C-6 International Programs and Studies Committee

Convener: Michael Johnson
Chair: TBD
Vice Chair: TBD
Chair Elect: TBD no later than February 2012.
Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2010-11 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the  executive vice president and provost on policies and procedures pertinent to the development, implementation, and operation of international programs at the University and pedagogical and research programs involving overseas study and/or work with internationally oriented agencies.

COMPOSITION: At least five members of the General Faculty and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. At least one faculty member of the committee shall be a member of a foreign language department. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The president, through delegation of authority to the executive vice president and provost, shall appoint annually, as administrative advisors without vote, the vice provosts for undergraduate studies and for graduate studies, one person selected from the academic associate deans of the colleges and schools, one person selected from among the directors of UT Austin area studies centers, and one person selected from among the assistants to the UT Austin administration in the area of international programs and student services related thereto.

Members, 2011-12:
  Dell’Antonio, Andrew 2010-2012 associate professor, music
  Gilbert, Dorie J. 2010-2012 associate professor, social work
  Platt, David E. 2010-2012 senior lecturer, accounting
  Straubhaar, Joseph 2011-2013 professor, radio-television-film
  Zhang, Xiaojing 2011-2013 assistant professor, biomedical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Johnson, Michael 2011-2012 assistant professor, French and Italian
  Smith, Jeffrey Chipps 2011-2012 professor, art and art history

Two Students:
  Lee, Yoon Hoo 2011-2012 Student Government representative
  Milani, Jenna N. 2011-2012 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Ali, Kamran ex officio director, South Asia Institute
  Ellzey, Janet ex officio vice provost
  Hamir, Heather Barclay ex officio assistant director, International Office
  Langlois, Judith ex officio vice provost, graduate studies