C-11 Research Policy Committee (est. 1992 D 14253-14254)

Chair: Elizabeth Gershoff
Vice Chair: N/A
Chair Elect: Elizabeth Gershoff
Minutes (PDF): 9/10/2012

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:


FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the president on matters relating to the research mission of the University and relationship between the research mission and other components of the University's overall mission. To provide for wider dissemination of information concerning the research mission of the University and how that mission is being discharged.

COMPOSITION: Nine voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms, one school or college administrator (Associate Dean for Research) for a one-year term, and two research staff members for two-year staggered terms. No more than two faculty members of the committee shall be from a given college or school. One undergraduate student appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by the Senate of College Councils and two graduate students appointed from a panel submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. At least one of the graduate student members of the committee shall be enrolled in one of the Ph.D. programs of the Graduate School. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. Both the Vice President for Research and the Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies shall serve as administrative advisors to the committee without vote.

Members, 2012-13:
  Boyarchenko, Svetlana 2012-2015 associate professor, economics
  Brown, Sharon A. 2011-2013 professor, nursing
  Costa-Giomi, Eugenia 2012-2014 professor, music
  Dingwell, Jonathan B. 2011-2013 associate professor, kinesiology and health education
  Holcombe, James A. 2012-2015 professor, chemistry and biochemistry
  Neikirk, Dean P. 2011-2013 electrical and computer engineering
  Oden, Michael 2012-2014 associate professor, architecture
  Richburg, John H. 2012-2014 professor, pharmacy
  Srinivasan, Rajashri 2011-2013 associate professor, marketing

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Gershoff, Elizabeth 2012-2013 associate professor, human development and family science
  Westbrook, Jo Lynn 2012-2013 associate professor, information

Two Research Staff:
  Strank, Shannon M. 2011-2013 manager, electromechanics
  Banks, Sean 2012-2014 research associate and programmer, population research center

One College or School Administrator:
  Ekerdt, John G. 2012-2013

associate dean for research, engineering

Three Students:
  Hirsch, Ryan 2012-2013 Senate of College Councils representative, sophomore, biology and premed
  Batanova, Milena 2012-2013 Graduate Student Assembly representative, health education
  Crowther, Ariana C. 2012-2013 Graduate Student Assembly representative, educational psychology

Administrative Advisors:
  Langlois, Judith ex officio
without vote
vice provost and dean of graduate studies
  Sanchez, Juan M. ex officio
without vote
vice president for research