C-12 Responsibilities, Rights, and Welfare of Graduate Student Academic Employees Committee

Chair: Edward R. Pearsall
Vice Chair: N/A
Chair Elect: Marvin D. Shepherd
Minutes (PDF): September 10, 2012

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:


FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the president on matters pertaining to the responsibilities, rights, and welfare of graduate student academic employees.

COMPOSITION: Five voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms; one staff graduate coordinator for a two-year term; and one teaching assistant, one assistant instructor, and one graduate research assistant. Student members shall be appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The chair of the Graduate Assembly shall appoint one member of the Graduate Assembly for a one-year term as an ex officio voting member of the committee. One representative from the Graduate School shall serve as an ex officio non-voting administrative advisor.

Members, 2012-13:
  Ekland-Olson, Sheldon 2012-2014 professor, sociology
  Evans, Brian E. 2011-2013 professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Gore, Andrea C. 2012-2014 professor, pharmacy
  Loukas, Alexandra 2011-2013 associate professor, kinesiology and health education
  Pearsall, Edward R. 2011-2013 associate professor, music

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Almen, Byron P. 2012-2013 associate professor, music
  Shepherd, Marvin D. 2012-2013 professor, pharmacy

One Staff :
  Terry, Kimberly 2012-2014 graduate program coordinator, graduate program coordinator, Latin American studies

Three Students:
  Phillips, Farya 2012-2013 Graduate Student Assembly representative (AI), social work
  Santillan, Eugenio 2012-2013 Graduate Student Assembly representative (RA), geological sciences
  Scott, Tynisha 2012-2013 Graduate Student Assembly representative (TA), gender and women's studies

Administrative Advisor:
  Hunter March ex-officio
with vote
chair, Graduate Assembly
  Kahn, Terry D. ex-officio
without vote
associate dean, graduate studies