C-6 International Programs and Studies Committee

Chair: Zachary Elkins
Vice Chair: Jeanne Freeland Graves
Chair Elect: Jeanne Freeland Graves
Minutes (PDF): N/A

The time for the initial meeting of the committee had to be postponed and will be rescheduled as soon as possible.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:


FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the executive vice president and provost on policies and procedures pertinent to the development, implementation, and operation of international programs at the University and pedagogical and research programs involving overseas study and/or work with internationally oriented agencies.

COMPOSITION: Five voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms and two students. At least one faculty member of the committee shall be a member of a foreign language department. Student members shall be appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by Student Government. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The President, through delegation authority to the Executive Vice President and Provost, shall appoint annually, as administrative advisors without vote, the Vice Provosts for Undergraduate Studies and for Graduate Studies, one person selected form the academic associate deans of the colleges and schools, one person selected from among the directors of UT Austin area studies centers, and one person selected from among the assistants to the UT Austin administration in the area of international programs and related student services.

Members, 2012-13:
  Ali, Kamran 2012-2014 associate professor, anthropology
  Freeland-Graves, Jeanne 2012-2015 professor, nutritional sciences
  Lara, Fernando 2012-2015 associate professor, architecture
  Straubhaar, Joseph 2011-2013 professor, radio-television-film
  Zhang, Xiaojing 2011-2013 assistant professor, biomedical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Elkins, Zachary 2012-2013 associate professor, government
  Freiberger, Oliver 2012-2013 associate professor, Asian studies

Two Students:
  Heimer, Grant C. 2012-2013 Student Government representative, junior, business/finance
  Watson, Lorena 2012-2013 Student Government representative, junior, social work

Administrative Advisors:
  Biow, Douglas ex officio
without vote
director, academic program
  Ellzey, Janet ex officio
without vote
vice provost for international programs
  Flores, Richard ex officio
without vote
academic associate deans, dean, liberal arts

  Hamir, Heather Barclay ex officio
without vote
director, study abroad
  Langois, Judith H. ex officio
without vote
vice provost, graduate studies