C-9 Transportation Policies Committee1

Patricia A. Somers
Chair Elect: Grodon Novak
Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

The initial meeting time of the committee will be on Friday, September 21 at 9 a.m. in SZB 376.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:


FUNCTION: To establish traffic and parking regulations and to review annually a system of priorities for permits to be issued in reserved areas; to recommend to the president ways and means of meeting parking needs of faculty, staff, and students; to recommend to the Faculty Council any changes in the composition and operation of the Parking and Traffic Appeals Panel.

COMPOSITION: Four voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms and four staff members, including two representing units at the J.J. Pickle Research Campus (the staff of the Director of Physical Plant are not eligible to serve), for two-year staggered terms. Two students shall be appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by Student Government, and one from a panel submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. Representatives of Physical Plant, the Dean of Students, University Operations, Parking and Transportation, and the University Police shall serve as administrative advisors without vote.

Members, 2012-13:
  Garcia, Alexandra A. 2011-2013 associate professor, nursing
  Meakin, Christopher 2012-2014 sr. lecturer, business, government, and society
  Novak, Gordon S. 2011-2013 professor, computer science
  Somers, Patricia A. 2012-2015 associate professor, educational administration

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Blyth, Carl 2012-2013 associate professor, French and Italian
  Hoad, Neville 2012-2013 associate professor, English

Four Staff:
  Spector, Bruce 2012-2014 transportation coordinator, admissions
  Stovall, Brian C. 2011-2013 manager, PAC
  TBD 2011-2013 PRC Staff Council representative
  Neyens, Daryl 2012-2014 PRC Staff Council representative, fire safety systems technician, Pickel Research Campus

Three Students:
  Brown, Ariel 2012-2013 Student Government representative, senior, government
  Davila, Abril 2012-2013 Graduate Student Assembly representative, law
  Prescott, Ethan 2012-2013 Student Government representative, junior, marketing and management

Administrative Advisors:
  Butler, Thomas L. ex officio
without vote
assistant director, Office of the Dean of Students
  Clubb, Patricia L. ex officio
without vote
Vice President for University Oberations
  McMahan, Terry ex officio
without vote
assistant chief, University Police
  Rea, David L. ex officio
without vote
administrative advisor, physical plant
  Stone, Bobby J. ex officio
without vote
director, Parking and Transportation Services

1On October 31, 2012, final approval was received from UT System to change the name of the committee from Parking and Traffic Policies Committee (D 9976-9981).