A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Co-Chairs: Dana L. Cloud and Hannah C. Wojciehowski
Chair Elect: Dana L. Cloud
Minutes (PDF): To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Summary of changes to annual evaluation and post-tenure review processes

Committee's annual reports from previous years:


FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the provost, the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.

COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The committee shall always contain a faculty member from the Law School by election or, if no Law School faculty member is elected, by appointment.

Members, 2013-14:
  Bonevac, Daniel A.1 2013-2016 professor, philosophy
  Cloud, Dana L. 2012-2014 associate professor, communication studies
  Hillis, David M. 2012-2015 professor, integrative biology
  Lawler, Desmond F. 2013-2016 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering
  Reichl, Linda E. 2013-2015 professor, physics
  Sokolow, David S. 2013-2016 senior lecturer, law
  Wojciehowski, Hannah C. 2012-2014 associate professor, English
  TBD 2012-2014 General Faculty Member

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Jensen, Jody 2013-2014 professor, kinesiology and health education
  Seeman, Sonia T. 2013-2014 assistant professor, music


1Professor Patricia Roberts-Miller, (rhetoric and writing) resigned from the committee on March 15, 2014.