B-1 Committee on Financial Aid to Students

Chair: Victor Saenz
Vice Chair: Circe D. Sturm
Chair Elect: Circe D. Sturm
Minutes (PDF):

September 10, 2013
October 1, 2013 (Financial Aid 101)
November 5, 2013 (Award Winning Methodology)
December 10, 2013
January 16, 2014
March 20, 2014
May 8, 2014

Schedule for upcoming meetings:
February 13, 2014, 2:00-3:00, SSB G1.106
March 20, 2014, 2:00-3:00, SSB G1.106
April 10, 2014, 2:00-3:00, SSB G1.106
May 8, 2014, 2:00-3:00, SSB G1.106

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To initiate and review policies and procedures; to hear appeals from decisions of the Office of Student Financial Services.

COMPOSITION: Five voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms, representing five colleges or schools; five students, including at least two who are receiving, or have received, financial aid from the Office of Student Financial Services; and two staff members for two-year staggered terms. Four of the students shall be appointed by the President from a panel of nominees submitted by Student Government; the fifth student shall be appointed by the President from a panel of nominees submitted by the Chair of the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The Director of Student Financial Services, a representative of the Dean of Students, and a representative from the Office of Graduate Studies shall serve as administrative advisers without vote. The President may appoint additional non-voting administrative advisors from the general administration areas of the University.

Members, 2013-14:
  Findley, Michael G. 2013-2016 assistant professor, government
  Griffin, Lisa2 2013-2014 associate professor, kinesiology and health education
  Johns, Ann C. 2013-2016 sr. lecturer, art and art history
  Limberg, Stephen T. 2012-2015 professor, accounting
  Saenz, Victor1 2013-2014 assistant professor, educational administration
  Sturm, Circe D. 2012-2015 associate professor, anthropology

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Reichl, Linda E. 2013-2014 professor, physics
Weyland, Kurt G.3 2013-2014 professor, government

Two Staff:
  Griffith, Janet L. 2013-2015 senior administrative associate
  Sy, Courtney 2012-2014 senior academic advisor, liberal arts

Five Students:
  Brouillard, Joseph Glenn 2013-2014 Student Government representative
  Ramirez, Xavier Micah 2013-2014 Student Government representative
  Thomas, Rebecca J. 2013-2014 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Valadez, Caitlyn Noelle 2013-2014 Student Government representative
  Vaughan, Chance Lee 2013-2014 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Felix, Jaden O. ex officio
without vote
coordinator of sorority and fraternity life, Office of the Dean of Students
Hackert, Marvin L. ex officio
without vote
associate dean, Graduate Studies
Melecki, Thomas G. ex officio
without vote
director, Student Financial Services

1Elected committee chair for 2013-2014.
2Replacing Alexander Huk who resigned 9/3/2013.
3Replacing Douglas Morrice who resigned 9/30/2013.