C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: Llewellyn K. Rabenberg
Co-Chairs Elect: Llewellyn K. Rabenberg and Simone A. Browne
Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer for a three-year term, and two staff members (at least one shall be an academic advisor or graduate coordinator) for two-year staggered terms. Three students shall be appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by Student Government and one from a panel submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. The Coordinator of the Sanger Learning and Career Center and three members of the administration shall be appointed by the President for one-year terms. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association shall serve as ex officio members without votes.

Members, 2013-14:
  Atkinson, Nigel S. 2013-2016 professor, neurobiology
  Busch-Armendariz, Noel B. 2013-2016 associate professor, social work
Clement, Michael B. 2012-2014 professor, accounting
  Gershoff, Elizabeth 2012-2015 associate professor, educational administration
  Maxwell, Madeline M. 2013-2016 departmental faculty minority liaison officer, professor, communication studies
Rabenberg, Llewellyn K.1 2013-2014 associate professor, mechanical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Browne, Simone A. 2013-2014 assistant professor, sociology
  Paik, Angela N. 2013-2014 assistant professor, American studies

Two Staff
Guevara, Jesus "Jay"2 2013-2015 senior academic advisor, business
  Guzman, Peter 2012-2014 sr. academic advisor, natural sciences

One Coordinator of the Sanger Learning and Career Center (with vote):
  Fernandez, Edward L. 2013-2014 assistant director, learning and career center

Three Members of Administration (with vote):
Bumphus, Aileen T.3 2013-2014 executive director, diversity and community engagement
  Harkins, Susan C. 2013-2014 program director, natural sciences
  White, Phaedra A. 2013-2014 program coordinator, learning communities program

Four Students:
  Carter, Jessica F. 2013-2014 Graduate Student Assembly representatives
  Chen, Yu-Fen Sophia 2013-2014 Student Government representative
  Mahler, Julien Alberto 2013-2014 Student Government representative
  Summers, Chance Hunter 2013-2014 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Lewis-Conerly, Lori ex officio
without vote
Black Alumni Association representative
  Arnold, Teresa ex officio
without vote
Hispanic Alumni Association representative
  Vincent, Gregory J. ex officio
without vote
vice president for diversity and community engagement

1Elected committee chair for 2013-2014.
2Replacing Bevington, Lizbelle (Belle) who resigned 9/10/2013.
3Ge Chen retired from the University on December 31, 2013.