C-13 Information Technology Committee (est. 2005 D 3694)

Chair: Chang Liu
Chair Elect: Betsy S. Greenberg
Minutes (doc): To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To recommend to the president, and to the chief information officer, and to the Faculty Council changes in policies regarding information technology; to consult with and advise the chief information officer about policies and procedures pertaining to information technology at the University.

COMPOSITION: Fifteen voting members of the General Faculty, thirteen of which will serve three-year staggered terms. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Eight of the faculty members will be from college/school faculty information technology (IT) committees and will rotate among the colleges and schools that have faculty IT committees. As an IT faculty term expires, the deans of colleges/schools with faculty IT committees will send the name of a faculty member of the IT committee to the Committee on Committees. The remaining five faculty members will be selected through the regular procedures of the Committee on Committees (see HOP 2-1040 section B). The Committee on Committees will submit all faculty recommendations/nominations, including the IT panel, to the president for appointment. There will be four staff members appointed for two-year staggered terms. At least two of the staff member representatives shall not be employed in IT-related areas. The President shall appoint three student members for one-year terms, one from each panel of names submitted by Student Government, the Senate of College Councils, and the Graduate Student Assembly. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The Chief Information Officer and a representative from the Information Technology Research & Educational Technology Committee (R&E) shall serve as ex officio members without vote. A representative from each of the following shall be selected by the President to serve as an administrative advisor without vote: the Center for Teaching and Learning, financial affairs, and department chairs.

Correction made on April 15, 2013.

***On March 17, 2014, President Powers approved D 10287-10289b with formal notification to UT System.***

Members, 2013-14:
  Alu, Andrea 2013-2016 assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Bizer, Marc 2012-2015 associate professor, French and Italian
  Davis, Patrick 2013-2016 faculty member of a college/school IT committee, professor, pharmacy
  Greenberg, Betsy S. 2012-2015 associate professor, information, risk, and operations manager
  Hughes, Joan 2013-2016 faculty member of a college/school IT committee, associate professor, education
  Liu, Chang 2012-2015 assistant professor, communication sciences and disorders
  Resta, Paul 2012-2014 professor, curriculum and instruction

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Beckner, William 2013-2014 professor, mathematics
  Novak, Gordon S. 2013-2014 professor, computer science

Four Staff:
Cowley, Chelsea 2013-2015 desktop support specialist, architecture
  Foster, Mark I. 2013-2015 information technology coordinator I
French, Karen1 2012-2014 interim manager, Office of Instructional Innovation
Mendoza, José L.2, 3 2013-2014 senior administrative associate, general faculty office

Three Students:
  Male, Frank 2013-2014 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Martel, Austin T. 2013-2014 Student Government representative
  Pickert, Rebecca Ann 2013-2014 Senate of College Councils representative

Administrative Advisors (without vote):
  Englert, Bradley G. ex officio
without vote
associate vice president and chief information officer, ITS
  Harvey, Michael G. ex officio
without vote
department chair representative
  Kerkhoff, Jim ex officio
without vote
assistant dean, College of Fine Arts (college and school technology coordinators representative)
  Newell, Angela M. ex officio
without vote
financial affairs representative, coordinator, ITS
  Tothero, Kenneth D. ex officio
without vote
Center for Learning and Teaching

1Replacing Stuart Tendler, who was appointed for 2012-2014 and resigned from committee effective April 17, 2013.
2Replacing Jeb Kendrick, who was appointed for 2012-2014 and resigned from committee effective September 4, 2013.
3Effective December 8, 2013, Anita Ahmadi resigned from the University.