C-2 University Academic Calendar Committee (Principles for the Development of the Academic Calendar)

Convener: Ellen M. Rathje
Chair: Hans Hofmann
Vice Chair: David S. Stein
Chair Elect: TBD no later than February 2014.
Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To make recommendations to the Faculty Council and to the president concerning the University academic calendar. The University Academic Calendar Committee will review the Principles for the Development of the Academic Calendar each year. If changes are needed, the committee will submit a recommendation to the Faculty Council in time for consideration at the Council’s April meeting. If no changes are needed, the committee will confirm in its annual report that it reviewed the principles and recommended no changes.

COMPOSITION: Four voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms, and two staff members for two-year staggered terms. Three student members shall be appointed by the President, one each from panels of names submitted by Student Government, the Senate of College Councils, and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. A representative of the Office of the Registrar shall serve as administrative advisor without vote.

Members, 2013-14:
Foster, Kevin M.2 2013-2014 associate professor, African and African diaspora studies
Hooker, Juliet A.1 2013-2015 associate professsor, government
Seidemann, Eyal 2013-2016 associate professsor, psychology
Stein, David S. 2013-2016 professor, molecular cell and developmental biology

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Hofmann, Hans 2013-2014 associate professor, integrative biology
  Rathje, Ellen M. 2013-2014 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering

Two Staff:
  Crouch, Stephanie W.3 2013-2014 administrative manager of college graduate program, pharmacy
  Roberts, Debbie 2013-2015 executive assistant, general faculty and faculty council

Three Students:
  Curo, Andrea Nicole 2013-2014 Student Government representative
  Liu, Alice Chang 2013-2014 Senate of College Councils representative
  Yan, Ni 2013-2014 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisor:
  Taylor, Kimberly K. ex officio
without vote
associate registrar

1Replaced Sandra Fernandez (assistant instructor, art and art history) who resigned from the committee due to scheduling conflicts and over-commitments. She had been appointed to replace Diane E. Bailey (assistant professor, information) who resigned from the committee in April 2013.
2On September 19, 2013, Janice Todd (professor, kinesiology and health education) replaced Jorge Pena (assistant professor, communication studies) who left UT Austin On November 20, 2013, Professor Todd resigned from the committee.
3On October 16, 2013, Jeannette Cook resigned from the committee.