A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Convener: Rajashri Srinivasan
Chairs: Brian Evans
Chair Elect: Rajashri Srinivasan
Minutes (PDF): To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

Jan 20th 1-2pm WMB 2.102 Conf. Room
Feb 3rd 1-2pm WMB 2.102 Conf. Room
Feb 17th 1-2pm WMB 2.102 Conf. Room
Mar 3rd 1-2pm WMB 2.102 Conf. Room
Mar 31st 1-2pm WMB 2.102 Conf. Room

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Summary of changes to annual evaluation and post-tenure review processes

Committee's annual reports from previous years:


FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the provost, the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.

COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The committee shall always contain a faculty member from the Law School by election or, if no Law School faculty member is elected, by appointment.

Members, 2014-15:
  Bonevac, Daniel A.1 2013-2016 professor, philosophy
  Evans, Brian L. 2014-2017 professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Hillis, David M. 2012-2015 professor, integrative biology
  Jensen, Jody 2014-2017 professor, kinesiology and health education
  Lawler, Desmond F. 2013-2016 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering
  Reichl, Linda E. 2013-2015 professor, physics
  Sokolow, David S. 2013-2016 senior lecturer, law

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Srinivasan, Rajashri 2014-2015 professor, marketing administration
  Umberson, Debra J. 2014-2015 professor, sociology


1Professor Patricia Roberts-Miller (rhetoric and writing) who resigned from the committee on March 15, 2014.