A-6 General Faculty Rules and Governance Committee

Chair: Hillary Hart
Vice Chair: TBD
Chair Elect: Bill Beckner
Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

The first meeting will be in MAI 212 at 2:15 p.m. on Monday, September 8, 2014.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To propose changes in the rules of procedure and governance structure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council; to propose changes to the general voting rights of the General Faculty; to study all other proposed changes in and additions to the rules of procedure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council; and to submit recommendations to the Faculty Council. If the recommendations concern the Faculty Council, the Committee will report also to the President, as the head of the General Faculty. In addition, this committee’s function is to make the final ruling in any election dispute or on any election matter not covered by the rules; to handle questions of interpretation of rules; and to determine questions of jurisdiction arising between the Faculty Council and the General Faculty.

COMPOSITION: Three members elected at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty, for three-year staggered terms. The Secretary of the General Faculty and the Chair of the Faculty Council shall serve as voting members, and each year, the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee.

Members, 2014-15:
  Beckner, William ex officio
Faculty Council chair, professor, mathematics
Cunningham, Isabella C.2 2014-2016 professor, advertising
  Ekland-Olson, Sheldon 2012-2015 professor, sociology
Hart, Hillary1 2014-2015
dist. sr. lecturer, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering; continuing as chair elect
  Klein, Susan R. 2014-2017 professor, law
  Neikirk, Dean ex officio secretary, General Faculty; professor, electrical and computer engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Leal, David L. 2014-2015 professor, government
  Spindler, James C. 2014-2015 professor, law

1Elected committee chair for 2014-2015.
2 On September 1, 2014, replaced Alan W. Friedman who is on leave for the academic year.