C-12 Responsibilities, Rights, and Welfare of Graduate Student Academic Employees Committee

Chair: Sheldon Ekland-Olson
Vice Chair: TBD
Chair Elect: TBD
Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

The first meeting will be in MAI 212 at 2:15 p.m. on Monday, September 8, 2014

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the president on matters pertaining to the responsibilities, rights, and welfare of graduate student academic employees.

COMPOSITION: Five voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms; one staff graduate coordinator for a two-year term; and one teaching assistant, one assistant instructor, and one graduate research assistant. Student members shall be appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The chair of the Graduate Assembly shall appoint one member of the Graduate Assembly for a one-year term as an ex officio voting member of the committee. One representative from the Graduate School shall serve as an ex officio non-voting administrative advisor.

Members, 2014-15:
  Arbogast, Todd J. 2014-2017 professor, mathematics
  Busch-Armendariz, Noel B. 2014-2017 professor, social work
  Ekland-Olson, Sheldon1 2014-2015 professor, sociology
  Hauft, Amy 2013-2016 professor, art and art history
  Knopf, Daniel F. 2013-2015 professor, mathematics
  Worth, Mary Jo 2013-2015 professor, curriculum and instruction

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Feinberg, Melanie D. 2014-2015 assistant professor, information
  Kilic, Can 2014-2015 assistant professor, physics

One Staff :
  Terry, Kimberly J. 2014-2016 graduate coordinator, psychology

Three Students:
  Mulligan, Brian 2014-2015 Graduate Student Assembly representative (RA)
  TBD 2014-2015 Graduate Student Assembly representative (TA)
  TBD 2014-2015 Graduate Student Assembly representative (AI)

Administrative Advisor:
  Hartzell, Jay C.
with vote
chair, Graduate Assembly
  TBD ex-officio
without vote
Graduate Studies representative

1Elected committee chair for 2014-2015.