C-13 Information Technology Committee (est. 2005 D 3694)

Chair: Betsy S. Greenberg
Chair Elect: Joan Hughes
Minutes (doc): To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

The first meeting will be in MAI 212 at 2:15 p.m. on Monday, September 8, 2014

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To recommend to the president, and to the chief information officer, and to the Faculty Council changes in policies regarding information technology; to consult with and advise the chief information officer about policies and procedures pertaining to information technology at the University.

COMPOSITION: Fifteen voting members of the General Faculty, thirteen of which will serve three-year staggered terms. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Eight of the faculty members will be from college/school faculty information technology (IT) committees and will rotate among the colleges and schools that have faculty IT committees. As an IT faculty term expires, the deans of colleges/schools with faculty IT committees will send the name of a faculty member of the IT committee to the Committee on Committees. The remaining five faculty members will be selected through the regular procedures of the Committee on Committees (see HOP 2-1040 section B). The Committee on Committees will submit all faculty recommendations/nominations, including the IT panel, to the president for appointment. There will be four staff members appointed for two-year staggered terms. At least two of the staff member representatives shall not be employed in IT-related areas. The President shall appoint three student members for one-year terms, one from each panel of names submitted by Student Government, the Senate of College Councils, and the Graduate Student Assembly. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The Chief Information Officer and a representative from the Information Technology Research & Educational Technology Committee (R&E) shall serve as ex officio members without vote. A representative from each of the following shall be selected by the President to serve as an administrative advisor without vote: the Center for Teaching and Learning, financial affairs, and department chairs.

***On March 17, 2014, President Powers approved D 10287-10289b with formal notification to UT System.*** See legislation for suggested implementation of staggered terms for eight IT faculty.

Members, 2014-15:
  Alu, Andrea 2013-2016 assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Beretvas, Susan N. 2014-2017 professor, educational psychology
  Bizer, Marc 2012-2015 associate professor, French and Italian
  Davis, Patrick 2013-2016 faculty member of a college/school IT committee, professor, pharmacy
  Greenberg, Betsy S. 2012-2015 associate professor, information, risk, and operations management
  Howison, James L. 2014-2017 faculty member of a college/school IT committee,¬†assistant professor, information
  Hughes, Joan 2013-2016 faculty member of a college/school IT committee,¬†associate professor, curriculum and instruction
  Jarvenpaa, Sirkka 2014-2017 faculty member of a college/school IT committee,¬†professor, risk, and operations management
  Liu, Chang 2012-2015 assistant professor, communication sciences and disorders
  Webber, Michael E. 2014-2017 associate professor, mechanical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Beckner, William 2014-2015 professor, mathematics
  Vanden Bout, David A. 2014-2015 professor, chemistry and biochemistry

Four Staff:
  Flaxbart, David W. 2014-2016 head librarian, Chemistry Library
  Foster, Mark I. 2013-2015 information technology coordinator I
  Lyon, Colleen E. 2014-2016 digital repository librarian
  TBD1 2014-2016 staff member

Three Students:
  Pickert, Rebecca Ann 2013-2014 Senate of College Councils representative
  TBD 2014-2015 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  TBD 2014-2015 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors (without vote):
  Englert, Bradley G. ex officio
without vote
associate vice president and chief information officer, ITS
  Harvey, Michael G. ex officio
without vote
department chair representative
  Kerkhoff, Jim ex officio
without vote
assistant dean, College of Fine Arts (college and school technology coordinators representative)
  Newell, Angela M. ex officio
without vote
financial affairs representative, coordinator, ITS
  Tothero, Kenneth D. ex officio
without vote
Center for Learning and Teaching

1On April 6, 2015, the Office of the General Faculty was notified that Chelsea Cowley had resigned from the committee.