C-2 University Academic Calendar Committee (Principles for the Development of the Academic Calendar)

Convener: Hans Hofmann
Chair: Hans Hofmann
Chair Elect: David S. Stein
Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.

The first meeting will be in MAI 212 at 2:15 p.m. on Monday, September 8, 2014.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To make recommendations to the Faculty Council and to the president concerning the University academic calendar. The University Academic Calendar Committee will review the Principles for the Development of the Academic Calendar each year. If changes are needed, the committee will submit a recommendation to the Faculty Council in time for consideration at the Council’s April meeting. If no changes are needed, the committee will confirm in its annual report that it reviewed the principles and recommended no changes.

COMPOSITION: Four voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms, and two staff members for two-year staggered terms. Three student members shall be appointed by the President, one each from panels of names submitted by Student Government, the Senate of College Councils, and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. A representative of the Office of the Registrar shall serve as administrative advisor without vote.

Members, 2014-15:
Murray, Paula C. 2014-2017 professor, business, government, and society
Seidemann, Eyal 2013-2016 associate professsor, psychology
Stein, David S. 2013-2016 professor, molecular biosciences
Wilcox, Richard E.1 2014-2015 professor, pharmacy

Faculty Council Appointees:
Hofmann, Hans 2014-2015 associate professor, integrative biology
  Lindstrom, Naomi E. 2014-2015 professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Two Staff:
  Crouch, Stephanie W. 2014-2016 administrative manager, pharmacy graduate program
  Roberts, Debbie 2013-2015 executive assistant, general faculty and faculty council

Three Students:
  Lin, Zeyi 2014-2015 Senate of College Councils representative
  Guadiana, Jesse 2014-2015 Student Government representative
  TBD 2014-2015 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisor:
  Taylor, Kimberly K. ex officio
without vote
associate registrar

1Replaced Juliet A. Hooker, who is on leave in 2014-15, resigned from the committee. She had replaced Sandra Fernandez (assistant instructor, art and art history) who resigned from the committee due to scheduling conflicts and over-commitments. She had been appointed to replace Diane E. Bailey (assistant professor, information) who resigned from the committee in April 2013.