C-4 Educational Policy Committee

Chair: Mary Rose
Chair Elect: Seema Agarwala
Minutes (PDF):

March 27 minutes

The first meeting will be in MAI 26 at 2:00 p.m. on Friday, September 19, 2014.

Meeting times in MAI 026:

*Friday, September 19, 2:00-3:00 PM
*Friday, October 16, 2:00-3:00 PM
*Friday, November 21, 2:00-3:00 PM
(December: No meeting planned as of now)
*Friday, January 16, 2:00-3:00 PM
*Friday, February 20, 2:00-3:00 PM

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To study proposals on educational policy and assess their possibilities and alternatives; to present recommendations on such matters to the Faculty Council. The committee shall actively seek advice from students.

COMPOSITION: Nine voting members of the General Faculty for three-year staggered terms. Three students shall be appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by the Senate of College Councils, and one from a panel submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. All undergraduate members must be from different colleges and include at least one lower-division and one -upper-division student. The Graduate Student Assembly panel shall include at least one graduate student who is or has served as an assistant instructor or teaching assistant in an undergraduate course at UT Austin. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair, who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The Provost, the Dean of Undergraduate Studies, and the Director of Measurement and Evaluation Center, representing the Center for Teaching and Learning, and the Registrar shall serve as administrative advisors without votes. The Chair of the Student Deans' Committee and the President of the Academic Counselors' Association shall serve as consultants without votes.

Members, 2014-15:
Agarwala, Seema 2013-2016 associate professor, biological sciences
Arledge, Jane 2013-2016 lecturer, mathematics
Bomer, Randy 2014-2017 professor, curriculum and instruction
Cummings, Molly E. 2012-2015 associate professor, integrative biology
De Lissovoy, Noah 2012-2015 assistant professor, curriculum and instruction
Ebbeler, Jennifer V. 2014-2017 associate professor, classics
Glavan, James J. 2013-2016 professor, theatre and dance
Hutchison, Coleman 2014-2017 associate professor, English
Rose, Mary 2013-2015 associate professor, sociology

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Julien, Christine L. 2014-2015 associate professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Moon, Jennifer 2014-2015 lecturer, biology instructional office

Four Students:
  Garcia, Caroline M. 2014-2015 Senate of College Councils representative
  Sridhar, Siddharth 2014-2015 Senate of College Councils representative
  Torres, Gabrielle V. 2014-2015 Senate of College Councils representative
  Clark, Margaret 2014-2015 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisors (without vote):
  Fenves, Gregory ex officio provost
  Iverson, Brent L. ex officio dean, undergraduate studies
  Keller, Harrison ex officio vice provost and executive director, Center for Teaching and Learning
  Stanfield, Shelby ex officio associate vice president and registrar

Consultants (without vote):
  Carpenter, Linda J. ex officio chair, Student Deans' Committee, assistant dean, nursing
  Chinnock, Julia D. ex officio

president, Academic Counselors Association, senior academic advisor for undergraudate studies