C-5 Faculty Building Advisory Committee

Convener: Edward T. Yu
Chair: Brian E. Roberts
Vice Chair: Robert A. Prentice
Chair Elect: TBD no later than February 2014.
Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following meetings, if appropriate.
The first meeting will be in MAI 212 at 2:15 p.m. on Monday, September 8, 2014.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Committee's annual reports from previous years:

FUNCTION: To represent the faculty, staff, and students in matters related to the planning and programming of buildings. The committee shall solicit and serve as the conduit for campus-wide faculty input into the nature and direction of existing building initiatives and the broader building planning process on campus and convey those concerns to all affected stakeholders.  The committee will monitor the proposed and actual responses to these faculty concerns in the design and construction of new and significantly renovated buildings, and it shall report both the concerns and the responses to the president and periodically to the Faculty Council.  No less than annually will the committee meet separately with representatives of extant master planning and public arts committees. A representative of the committee (generally, the chair) shall serve on the Campus Master Planning Committee, or its equivalent. A member of the committee may, when appropriate, be appointed by the president as a voting member to a special committee created during the preparation of the preliminary plans for the erection of a particular building, to serve until the completion thereof.1

COMPOSITION: Nine voting members of the General Faculty, including a representative from the School of Architecture, and one member of the University staff, all appointed by the President for five-year terms. Two undergraduate students appointed by the President from a panel of names submitted by Student Government, and one graduate student from a panel submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. Students shall serve one-year terms and shall be eligible for reappointment. The students may not be from the same college or school. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each year, the committee shall elect its own Chair and Vice Chair who shall be voting faculty members of the committee. The Vice President for University Operations or a delegate shall be an ex officio member. The UT System Associate Vice Chancellor for Facilities Planning and Construction and a representative from the Office of Campus Planning and Facilities Management shall serve as administrative advisors without vote.
1On December 1, 2014, President Powers granted final approval to the revision of the committee's function (D 11939-11943).

Members, 2014-15:
Davis, Diane D. 2013-2018 professor, rhetoric and writing
Garrison, Michael L. 2014-2019 professor, architecture
Hale, Kenneth 2012-2017 professor emeritus, art and art history
Huq, Enamul 2013-2018 associate professor, biological sciences
Markey, Mia K. 2014-2019 professor, biomedical engineering
Prentice, Robert A. 2011-2016 professor, business, government, and society
Richburg, John M. 2011-2016 professor, pharmacy
  Roberts, Brian E. 2010-2015 professor, government
  Speck, Lawrence W. 2010-2015 professor, architecture

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Shapiro, Paul R. 2014-2015 professor, astronomy
  Yu, Edward T. 2014-2015 professor, electrical and computer engineering
One Staff:
  Ellinger, Jeff 2010-2015 technical coordinator, Texas Performing Arts

Three Students:
  TBD 2014-2015 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Kerl, Cameron 2014-2015 Student Government representative
  Nalley, Jamie 2014-2015 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Clubb, Patricia L. ex officio
without vote
vice president for employee and campus services
  Dixon, David R. ex officio
without vote
administrative advisor, UT System, Facilities Planning and Construction
  Rea, David L. ex officio
without vote
associate vice president for campus planning and facilities management