2014 Doty Award Dinner Review

It is always such a special occasion for us to thank and celebrate you, our closest supporters, which is the purpose of our annual Doty Award dinner and celebration. Thank you to everyone from the Advisory Council who joined us for  2014 Doty Award Recipients

the reception and banquet on January 30th. For photos from the evening, please click here.

Doug Dempster was the master of ceremonies, and he began the festivities with the presentation of the college’s highest honor, The Doty Award, to Robert and Barbara Tocker.

In celebration of our college’s 75th anniversary, we introduced two new alumni awards this year to complement the original Doty Award: The E. William Doty Young Alumnus Award and The E. William Doty Distinguished Alumnus Award. These new awards were presented to alumni with distinguished professional careers and special achievements in their chosen fields. In addition, these recipients are alumni who demonstrate pride, loyalty and continued interest in their association with the College of Fine Arts and The University of Texas at Austin.

The Doty Young Alumnus Award recipient was Baltimore Ravens kicker Justin Tucker (BA in Music, 2011). His parents, Paul and Michelle Tucker, accepted the award on his behalf, as he had Super Bowl obligations that prevented him from attending. Here is a video of Justin in action.

Brant Pope, Robert Schenkkan, Robert Faires Brant Pope, Robert Schenkkan, Robert Faires

The Doty Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient was Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Robert Schenkkan (BA in Drama, 1975), whose play All the Way is currently in previews on Broadway. Please take a minute to watch an interview with Robert here and read the recent article about his play from Sunday's NY Times.

We are very proud of all the Doty Award winners for 2014, and we salute our many friends, alumni, faculty, and donors who help to make our college so successful.

If you missed this year's Doty Awards celebration, we hope you will be able to join us next year on January 29, 2015.