Vince DiNino Receives E. William Doty Award

Vincent R. DiNino, 2012 E. William Doty Award Recipient


The College of Fine Arts Honors Vince DiNino with the
E. William Doty Award

May 25, 2012

AUSTIN – Texas The College of Fine Arts presented Vincent DiNino, director  of bands emeritusemeritusEem, with its highest honor, the E. William Doty Award.

DiNino became the first full-time director of the Longhorn Band in 1955 and made significant changes that gained the band national prominence. Under his direction, the band began admitting women and people of color, band members were held to higher standards of musicianship and marching technique. The Longhorn Band uniform changed to the cowboy style that is used today and the large size of the band brought a new pageantry to college football. DiNino’s vision continues to be the model for major college marching bands.

DiNino was honored at the Doty Award Dinner held on May 11.

The Longhorn Band is a year-round program offered as a course by the Butler School of Music in the College of Fine Arts. Registration is open to students across the academic disciplines at The University of Texas at Austin.

The College of Fine Arts’ E. William Doty Award, established in 1995, is the College’s highest recognition given to individuals of distinction in their fields and/or have demonstrated extraordinary interest in the college. Previous recipients include renowned writer and art collector James A. Michener, alumni musical theatre creators Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt, past faculty member Oscar Brockett and Jack S. Blanton, Houston philanthropist and key supporter of the university’s art museum that now bears his name.

For more information, contact: Leslie Lyon, College of Fine Arts, 512-475-7033.