Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards

Offered annually in recognition of faculty members at the nine University of Texas System academic institutions who have demonstrated extraordinary classroom performance and innovation in undergraduate instruction, the Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards are the Board of Regents' highest honor. With monetary awards of $25,000, they are among the largest in the nation for rewarding outstanding faculty performance. Given the depth and breadth of talent across the UT System, the awards program is likewise one of the nation's most competitive.

Faculty members undergo a series of rigorous evaluations by students, peer faculty and external reviewers. The review panels consider a range of activities and criteria in their evaluations of a candidate's teaching performance, including classroom expertise, curricula quality, innovative course development and student learning outcomes.

Established by the Board of Regents in 2008, the Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards complement a wide range of Systemwide efforts that underscore the Board of Regents' commitment to ensuring the UT System is a place of intellectual exploration and discovery, educational excellence and unparalleled opportunity.


CoFA Recipients

Robert Duke, Butler School of Music, 2009

Linda Henderson, Department of Art/Art History 2009

Yevgeniy Sharlat, Butler School of Music, 2009

Andrea Patrice Beckham, Department of Theatre/Dance, 2010

Franchelle Stewart Dorn, Department of Theatre/Dance, 2010

Judith Jellison, Butler School of Music, 2010

David Shields, Departmentof Art/Art History, 2010

Charlotte Canning, Department of Theatre/Dance, 2011

Ann Collins Johns, Department of Art/Art History, 2011

Susan Mickey, Department of Theatre and Dance, 2012

Beili Liu, Department of Art/Art History, 2012

Katie Dawson, Department of Theatre and Dance, 2013