About Us | Contact Us | Search HR
Human Resources

Current UTemps Employee

Already a UTemp? This section will answer your questions from parking to payroll.

New UTemps Checklist

Welcome to UTemps, the temporary placement service of the University of Texas at Austin. We’re pleased to have you on our team of on-call workers providing the best in temporary services to the university. The following information will be helpful in understanding your role as a UTemp.

Required Compliance Training

The sexual harassment and EEO modules are mandated by the state and the remaining modules are required by the university.

These modules are good for two years. When you’ve completed the modules, you must notify the UTemps office by e-mail or phone, 512-232-TEMP (8367).

Paycheck Profile Information

This must be completed to receive your paycheck

Note: You can update any of the data listed in your Paycheck Profile; W-2 address, check distribution, Direct Deposit bank information and tax withholding. When you update, it will notify you if the update was in time for the next scheduled payday.

top

Check in

Availability

Placement on UTemp assignments depends on your availability. In order to let the UTemps office know that you’re available, you need to call in each week on Monday.

When you call in you don’t need to speak with the UTemps coordinators in person, just leave your full name and phone number. If you’re available for part-time work only, tell us if you’re available to work mornings or afternoons. This call will put you on our list of active and available UTemps. The UTemps office will contact you by phone when you’re selected for a temporary position.

Keep us informed

We need to be able to reach you during regular working hours in order to improve your opportunities for an assignment. If your phone number changes for any reason or for any length of time, please contact us immediately. If you become unable to work for UTemps, you’re hired within the university in a non-temporary capacity or found permanent employment elsewhere, please notify us as well.

Status change

If your status on your temp assignment changes, in particular your projected ending date, you must inform the UTemps Office immediately.

For questions, please call UTemps at 512-232-TEMP (8367) or e-mail us.

top

Parking

As a UTemp, you are eligible to purchase a university “A” parking permit. This doesn’t mean that you’re guaranteed parking. But it does allow you to park anywhere on campus marked “A” OR parking marked as available to any valid university permit. Most of this parking fills up quickly during the day. A map is available online showing those areas where you’re allowed to park with an “A” permit. It was also provided to you by the UTemps coordinator.

Every time you’re offered and accept a UTemp assignment, you will be asked if you want to purchase a parking permit. If you say yes, our office will fax a form to the office of Parking and Transportation Services, verifying that you can purchase a parking permit. The permit will be good for one month from that date. Example: Your permit begins on Jan. 15 and will expire Feb. 15, regardless if the date is a weekend or holiday.

Applying for and renewing a parking permit

The Parking and Transportation Services office is located on the corner of MLK and Trinity on the first floor of the Trinity Garage (TRG). When you go to purchase your permit, be sure to have your license plate number. Payment may be made by cash, personal check or Mastercard, Visa or Discover.

When your current parking permit expires, you’re responsible for obtaining another one. To do this, contact the UTemps office and leave a message stating the date your current permit will expire, how many months you want the new one for and your present work fax number. Our office will fax a form to you to take to the Parking and Transportation Services to purchase another permit. Be careful, you can get a parking ticket for an expired permit.

top

Submitting Timesheets

You must complete an Hourly Time Sheet (PO-6H) at the end of each pay period indicating the total number of hours you worked excluding lunch hours. Each time sheet must be signed by you and your departmental supervisor. Be sure to keep a copy for yourself and one for your supervisor. You should’ve received a master copy of this time sheet was provided to you by the UTemps coordinator.

You will be paid semi-monthly. The two semi-monthly pay periods are from the first of a calendar month through the fifteenth, and from the sixteenth through the last day of the month. You must submit your time sheets to the UTemps office no later than the first workday following the close of a pay period.

Your Timesheet

You’re responsible for ensuring that your timesheets are submitted no later than the date specified in the table below. Timesheets arriving after the due date cannot be processed until the next payroll.

The best method to ensure your timesheet is submitted on time is for you to scan it into a PDF file and e-mail it to UTemps or deliver it in person. Faxing of timesheets is not allowed. Mailing your timesheet either by U.S. mail or campus mail is not recommended. To submit your timesheet in person:

Timesheet/Payday Schedule

FY 2014-2015

Month/Pay Period Dates Timesheet Due Date Check Release Date (Payday)
September 1-15 Tuesday, Sept 16 Monday, Sept 22
September 16-30 Wednesday, Oct 1 Tuesday, Oct 7
October 1-15 Thursday, Oct 16 Wednesday, Oct 22
October 16-31 Monday, Nov 3 Friday, Nov 7
November 1-15 Monday, Nov 17 Friday, Nov 21
November 16-30 Monday, Dec 1 Friday, Dec 5
December 1-15 Tuesday, Dec 16 **DUE BY 1PM** Thursday, Dec 18
December 16-31 Friday, Jan 2 Thursday, Jan 8
January 1-15 Friday, Jan 16 **DUE BY 1PM** Thursday, Jan 22
January 16-31 Monday, Feb 2 Friday, Feb 6
February 1-15 Monday, Feb 16 Friday, Feb 20
February 16-28 Monday, Mar 2 Friday, Mar 6
March 1-15 Monday, Mar 16 Friday, Mar 20
March 16-31 Wednesday, Apr 1 Tuesday, Apr 7
April 1-15 Thursday, Apr 16 Wednesday, Apr 22
April 16-30 Friday, May 1 Thursday, May 7
May 1-15 Monday, May 18 Friday, May 22
May 16-31 Monday, Jun 1 Friday, Jun 5
June 1-15 Tuesday, Jun 16 Monday, Jun 22
June 16-30 Wednesday, Jul 1 Tuesday, Jul 7
July 1-15 Thursday, Jul 16 Wednesday, Jul 22
July 16-31 Monday, Aug 3 Friday, Aug 7
August 1-15 Monday, Aug 17 Friday, Aug 21
August 16-31 Tuesday, Sep 1 Tuesday, Sep 8

FY 2015-2016

Month/Pay Period Dates Timesheet Due Date Check Release Date (Payday)
September 1-15 Wednesday, Sept 16 Tuesday, Sept 22
September 16-30 Thursday, Oct 1 Wednesday, Oct 7

**Only on these dates** Your timesheet MUST be submitted NO LATER THAN 1 P.M.

top

Evaluation

It is the objective of UTemps to place highly qualified individuals into temporary assignments. To assess work performance and suitability for future assignments, an evaluation form is sent to the departmental supervisor. This evaluation will be kept for reference to determine qualifications for future assignments.

top

Benefits

UTemps are not eligible the university’s group insurance, promotion/transfer programs, holiday pay, sick leave, paid vacation or other regular employee benefits.

UTemps are eligible for the following:

Staff “A” parking permit, jury duty, time off to vote, military leave (without pay), unemployment compensation insurance and overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 hours per week with prior approval (at time and one-half).

top