Renaming a UTmail Email Account
You can rename your UTmail email address by logging in to the UTmail User Management page with your UT EID and selecting Rename UTmail Account.
Things to consider before renaming your UTmail email address
- Personal contacts are lost. You must re-establish personal contacts.
- Google Talk loses all remembered chat invitations. You must request permission to chat with friends again.
- Google Talk may be unavailable for up to 3 days.
- Your old address will not forward messages to your new address. It is important that you notify your contacts and update any mailing lists and online resources.
What happens to your old email address?
Once your address is renamed, your old address will be placed on hold for 5 days. During this time, all emails sent to your old address will bounce and return errors to the sender.
After 5 days, your old email address will be added to the pool of available UTmail addresses.
Note: You can only rename your account once per day.
Last updated June 21, 2012 @ 3:30 pm