Closing an Account
Note: Departments CANNOT remove current employee mailboxes. If you need to remove an employee's mailbox before they are listed as "former" in the Texas Enterprise Directory (TED), contact the ITS Help and Service Desk.
If you no longer need your AEMS account, complete the following steps.
Make copies of all the email messages you want to save. Removing your mailbox deletes the mailbox and all the messages in it.
Log in to ITS Computer Account Services.
Click the Austin Exchange Mailbox View/Modify button.
Click the Add / Modify / Remove Mailbox link.
Read the warning information in the Remove Mailbox section, then select the checkbox to verify that you have read the warning information.
Click the Remove Mailbox button.
Click the LOGOFF link.
When your mailbox subscription is canceled, the mailbox is disabled, the entry for the mailbox in the Exchange Global Address List (GAL) is hidden, and the mailbox enters a 90-day retention period. During the retention period the mailbox physically exists, but the user will be unable to access it. After 90 days, the mailbox will be deleted.
Last updated July 2, 2014 @ 1:10 pm