The Secure Message System provides employees in The University of Texas System with a way to transmit sensitive messages and data securely to anyone who can log in to UT Direct using a UT EID and password. In addition to being available only to designated recipients, these secure messages expire after a specified period of time (not to exceed 31 days), so that old, sensitive information does not remain available indefinitely.
- Messages are secure; recipients log into UT Direct to view.
- Secure Messages can be sent to anyone with a UT EID.
- Senders can attach files.
- Senders can verify that messages were viewed.
- Secure messages expire after a specified period of time.
- Recipients receive an e-mail message containing instructions on how to view the secure message and a reply-to address.
Secure Messaging is available at no cost to UT System employees.