The University of Texas at Austin
  • Profs cited by national organization

    By Tara Chandler
    Published: Nov. 1, 2007

    Four professors have been elected as 2007 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). AAAS fellows are chosen annually by their peers to recognize their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. This year’s fellows from the university are:

    Karen Artzt, professor of molecular genetics and microbiology in the College of Natural Sciences, for innovative research in mammalian developmental genetics.

    Herbert Berk, professor of physics in the College of Natural Sciences, for outstanding contributions to plasma physics and for the development of kinetic theory applicable to the understanding of plasma stability, transport and the formation of nonlinear phase space structures.

    James Chelikowsky, professor of physics and chemistry and biochemistry in the College of Natural Sciences and professor of chemical engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering, for contributions to the basic understanding of properties of materials through theoretical calculations and for excellence in teaching, lecturing and writing.

    Sanjay Banerjee
    , professor of electrical and computer engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering, for distinguished contributions to silicon-germanium heterostructures and three-dimensional integrated circuits.

    Comments are closed.

    • Digg
    • StumbleUpon
    • Facebook
    • Google Bookmarks
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • Print
    • email

    Related Topics

    , , , ,