The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The University of Texas School of Law Wins
2010 AAJ Regional Championship

The University of Texas School of Law won the Regional Championship at the 2010 American Association for Justice Student Trial Advocacy Competition held February 25th-28th in Phoenix, Arizona. The team will now go on to compete in the national rounds in New Orleans, Louisiana, March 18-21, 2010.

Two teams represented UT at this year's AAJ regional mock trial competition. Team members Katherine Hacker ('10), Tiffany Larsen ('10), Nicholas Taunton ('11) and Stephen Schifrin ('10) progressed to semifinals. Team members Cedric Allen ('11), Austin Barton ('10), Rachel Gilbert ('11), and Adriana Rodgriguez ('11) beat the University of Houston in the final round to win the regional title. The University of Texas School of Law was the only school to have both teams advance past the preliminary rounds. Both of UT Law's AAJ teams were coached by Jay Ellwanger ('01) of DiNovo, Price, Ellwanger & Hardy, LLP, Michael Golden ('01) of Boulette & Golden, LLP, and Stefanie Scott ('08) also with DiNovo, Price, Ellwanger & Hardy, LLP.

The American Association of Justice's National Student Trial Advocacy Competition is a large and prestigious competition. Over 200 teams across the nation compete in the fourteen regional competitions with only the top team from each regional advancing to national rounds.

For more information, please contact