The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The University of Texas School of Law Wins
2004 Philip C. Jessup International Law Regional Moot Court Competition

The 2004 Jessup Moot Court team won the regional competition held in Houston February 19-21, 2004. Coached by Kris Monson ('02), team members Daniel Chadwick, Ben Ellison, Abraham George, Syed Mahmood Ahmad and Shane Mecham beat Washington University in the quarter-finals, and South Texas College of Law in the final round. The team also won the memorial award (best brief). This is the third consecutive year that UT has won best brief and the regional championship.

Coach Kris Monson, an Assistant Solicitor General for the State of Texas, said "several of the judges remarked that this year's problem was perhaps the most difficult moot court packet they had ever seen. I am proud of the work that our students did to make that problem easy for the judges to understand."

Individual team members won awards as well. Mecham won Best Oralist for both the preliminary and final rounds, Chadwick was Third-Best Oralist and Ben Ellison was an Honorable Mention for Best Oralist. This was the first time that three out of the four speakers have won speaking awards.

The Jessup competition, administered by the International Law Students Association (ILSA), is widely recognized as the largest and most prestigious international law moot court competition in the world. Law students from all over the globe compete, striving to take home the Worldwide Championship.

The University of Texas began competing in Jessup in 1959 and has held the Worldwide Championship honor four times -- more than any other U.S. team. The University of Texas is tied with the National University of Singapore School of Law for the most world championships won by any law school.