The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The University of Texas School of Law Wins
2005 Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court
National Championship

The University of Texas won the National Championship at the John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition held in Richmond, Virginia, April 7th through the 9th. This is the fourth consecutive year and the sixth time UT has been the national champion, and the first time in the history of the competition that a school has won the championship four years in a row.

UT team members Teresa Chin and Natasha Self beat South Texas in the final round. In addition, the team won the Maritime Law Association of the United States Award for Best Brief and Teresa Chin was awarded the Royston Rayzor Award for Best Oral Advocate of the Competition. The Admiralty team is coached by Chris Sapstead (`01) of Crampton & Associates. Chris is also a past winner of the Royston Rayzor Vickery & Williams Award as the Best Oral Advocate in the admiralty competition. 20 teams from 12 different schools participated this year.

The championship round was held at the Lewis L. Powell, Jr. United States Courthouse for the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. The distinguished panel of final round judges included the Honorable Robert H. Bork, the Honorable Harry L. Carrico, the Honorable Dennis W. Dohnal, the Honorable Walter S. Felton, Jr., the Honorable Raymond A. Jackson, the Honorable D. Arthur Kelsey, the Honorable Paul V. Niemeyer, the Honorable Robert E. Payne, the Honorable Harvey E. Schlesinger, and the Honorable F. Bradford Stillman.

The competition is named for one of the nation's most prominent admiralty judges, the Honorable John R. Brown, who served on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit from 1955 until his death in 1993. Each year the competition is co-sponsored by the University of Texas School of Law and a host school. The University of Richmond-T.C. Williams School of Law co-sponsored and hosted this year's competition in Richmond, Virginia.