The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The University of Texas School of Law Teams Sweep
Regional and National Competitions

The University of Texas School of Law swept the National Championship round during the 2005 Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition held in Washington, D.C., April 13th through the 15th. This is the third time in four years that the University of Texas has taken the national title. This year, both teams in the regional final round and the national final round were from the University of Texas. UT was the only school to have two teams advance to the national competition. The 2005 National Champions are Jennifer Hebert ('05) and Noah Balch ('06). UT team members Chris Boeck ('05) and Floyd Walker ('06) are this year's national finalists. In March, the University of Texas teams swept the Southern regional competition as well. Hebert and Balch won the regional championship along with the awards for Best Oral Advocates and Best Appellant Brief. Boeck and Walker finished as the Southern regional finalists.

Four regional competitions are held each spring with the two top teams advancing to nationals. This year's eight national competition teams represented seven different schools. The final round was held at the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Washington, D.C. The Honorable Alan D. Lourie, the Honorable William Curtis Bryson, and the Honorable Sharon Prost, all judges for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, presided over the final round.

The UT Giles Sutherland Rich teams are coached by Jennifer Kuhn and her husband, Pierre Hubert. Jennifer, a graduate of Cornell Law School, is a solo practitioner in Austin, Texas. Pierre is Counsel in the Austin office of Dewey Ballantine, L.L.P. He completed the graduate program in engineering at the University of Texas in 1993 before heading to NYU for law school. This is only the second year Jennifer and Pierre have coached the intellectual property moot court teams and this is the second time they've coached their teams to the national championship.

The law firms of Dewey Ballantine, L.L.P and McKool Smith, P.C. generously sponsor the intellectual property moot court teams at UT. Founded in 1909, Dewey Ballantine is an international law firm with over 550 attorneys, thirteen offices worldwide and more than 40 practice areas. McKool Smith is a Dallas-based law firm engaged exclusively in commercial, civil trial and appellate litigation throughout the nation. McKool's practice areas include intellectual property, antitrust, technology, class action, contract, environmental, securities and business tort litigation.

The American Intellectual Property Law Association hosts the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Moot Court Competition, one of the largest national moot court competitions in the nation. Each year the competition problem focuses on issues in intellectual property law, primarily patent law. The competition is named for the late Honorable Giles Sutherland Rich, Circuit Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Judge Rich was a prominent Federal Circuit judge responsible for shaping much of the current U.S. patent law.