The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The University of Texas School of Law Wins
2007 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition
Regional Championship

TMMTC Team Members 
Dwayne Smith, Ciara Williams, Raffaela Belizaire, and Sophia Lecky

The University of Texas School of Law won the Regional Championship at the 2007 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition held January 24-28th in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The UT team will now go on to compete in the national rounds in Atlanta, Georgia, March 21st through the 25th.

Two teams represented UT at this year's regional mock trial competition. Team members Marc Bozeman ('07), Elizabeth Lockett ('08), Jessica Parker ('08), and Tanikqua Young ('07) progressed to quarterfinals. Team members Kathryn Freeman ('08), Sophia Lecky ('07), Dwayne Smith ('08), and Ciara Williams ('07), assisted by Raffaela Belizaire ('09), defeated St. Mary's Law School in the final round to win the regional championship. In addition, Elizabeth Lockett won Best Advocate, with Marc Bozeman and Ciara Williams earning honorable mention in that same category. Both of UT's 2006-2007 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial teams are coached by Mark Santos ('02), an Associate at Clark, Thomas & Winters. This is Santos' first year to coach.

UT also competed in the Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition held at the same time. Moot court team members Rebecca Horwitz ('07) and Ifeyinwa Ossai ('07), coached by Kameron Johnson ('92) of the Travis County Juvenile Public Defender's Office, advanced to the semi-final round and won the award for Best Respondent's Brief.

The Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial and Frederick Douglass Moot Court competitions are hosted by the National Black Law Students Association (NBLSA). Founded in 1968, NBLSA is the largest student-run organization in the U.S. and represents over 6,000 law students in 200 chapters across the nation.

The University of Texas School of Law mock trial and moot court teams brought home more awards from these competitions than any other school participating this year. This is the third time in the last five years that UT has taken a championship title in the NBLSA mock trial or moot court competition: the 2002 Frederick Douglass Moot Court National Championship and the 2004 Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Regional Championship.

For more information, please contact