The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The 2015 Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition

The Honorable John R. Brown served on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit as one of the nation's most prominent admiralty judges from 1955 until his death in 1993. Shortly after his death and in his honor, The University of Texas School of Law established the "Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition," an interscholastic appellate advocacy competition.

Each year, the Competition is held under the joint sponsorship of The University of Texas School of Law and a local host school. In 2015, The Charleston School of Law will locally host the 22nd Annual Competition March 19–21, in Charleston, South Carolina.

Major funding each year is provided by the Houston law firm of Royston, Rayzor, Vickery & Williams L.L.P. (where Judge Brown practiced from 1932 to 1955) and the Maritime Law Association of the United States.

As in years past, last year we were privileged to have distinguished judges serving as judges for the Championship Round. For the semi-final rounds, we were pleased to have as judges prominent members of the maritime bar, presidents and past presidents of the Maritime Law Association of the United States, and admiralty professors.

For teams interested in participating, the registration deadline is December 1, 2014. Each school may enter one or two teams consisting of two or three competitors each. Registration will be done on a first-come, first-served basis, and space is limited, so prompt enrollment is recommended. The registration fee is $200 per team. Links to the convenient online registration form, printable registration form, competition rules, and a schedule of important dates are provided above. Additionally, a link to the previous years’ problems is provided above to aid coaches in selecting a team.

Inquiries regarding judging, sponsorship or registration may be directed to the Texas Tournament Directors, Alex Moon and Aaron Gregg, at

Download the 2015 Problem (password required).