Advisory Board

James Lloyd Loftis

Partner at Vinson & Elkins
James heads Vinson & Elkins' International Dispute Resolution practice and focuses his practice on the arbitration and litigation of international commercial and investor-state disputes and on counseling clients involved in matters involving international law and treaties. His practice includes disputes involving all aspects of energy, infrastructure development and construction, and disputes under investment laws and treaties, as well as boundary disputes, cross-border technology disputes and sovereign debt. He also represents and advises clients in reviews under U.S. national security law (CFIUS) and anti-corruption law (FCPA) and in international and cross-border litigation, including arbitral award enforcement in a number of jurisdictions. He is a member of the ICC Commission on Arbitration, is listed in Global Arbitration Review, is the ABA's delegate to the LCIA Court of Arbitration in London, is listed in Legal Media Group's (Euromoney's) Expert Guide to Commercial Arbitration, and is ranked in international arbitration in Chambers Global, Chambers UK, Chambers USA and Legal 500 UK. He is listed in The Best Lawyers in America® for international arbitration. In 2009, James was appointed as adjunct professor at the University of Texas School of Law where he teaches international investment law and investor-state arbitration and international commercial arbitration. In 2011, he was appointed as Chair of the Advisory Board for the Global Center for Energy, International Arbitration and Environmental Law at the University of Texas School of Law. From 1997 - 2000, James served in Geneva, Switzerland, as chief counsel for the Oil Sector (E1) and Construction and Engineering (E3) Panels of the United Nations Compensation Commission (the Gulf War claim tribunal). James maintains offices in London and in Houston, and is admitted in Texas, in the Dubai International Financial Centre Courts and in the Senior Courts of England and Wales.

Return to the List of Advisory Board Members