The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:


January 2012 trip participants at the offices of the South Texas Civil Rights Project, where they helped assemble VAWA petitions.

Pro Bono Program to organize DACA clinics for 2013 Pro Bono in January trip

On January 6–11, 2013, the Pro Bono Program will take thirty students as well as several faculty members to the Texas Rio Grande Valley during the second week of January. This will be Pro Bono in January’s fourth year in the Valley. This year the Pro Bono Program is partnering with the Texas Civil Rights Project in Austin to organize clinics in the San Juan area to assist pro se youth to petition for relief under the recently launched Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. At the clinics, students and volunteer attorneys will help high-school DACA petitioners (aka “DREAMers”) complete forms and compile documents to file with United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Law students in Goliad with the Rural Outreach Initiative are, left to right, Tecuan Flores, Meredith Weaver, Kevin Vermillion

National Pro Bono Week at UT Law: Spotlight on the Rural Outreach Initiative

In recognition of National Pro Bono Week (October 21–27, 2012), the UT Law Pro Bono Program celebrates law students’ volunteer efforts in underserved areas of Texas through Texas RioGrande Legal Aid’s Rural Outreach Initiative. Over the 2011–2012 school year, fourteen students assisted TRLA with the project. This fall nine students have volunteered, and students will also have the opportunity to work on the project in the spring.

UT Law joins 2012 National Celebration of Pro Bono, October 21–27, 2012

During the week of October 21–27, 2012, the UT Law Pro Bono Program will participate in the fourth annual nationwide celebration of pro bono service. Launched by the ABA Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Public Service, the National Pro Bono Celebration focuses the nation’s attention on the increased need for pro bono services and celebrates the work of lawyers who volunteer their services throughout the year.

Lino A. Graglia, A. W. Walker Centennial Chair in Law.

Opinion: Professor Lino Graglia writes two op-ed pieces on the Supreme Court’s pending decision in Fisher v. University of Texas

Professor Lino A. Graglia, A. W. Walker Centennial Chair in Law, has written two recent op-ed pieces discussing the issues at stake in the Supreme Court’s pending decision on Fisher v. University of Texas, a controversial case involving the use of race as a criterion in college admissions.

New report on status of low-income homeowners in Texas colonias and informal housing settlements issued by the University of Texas

The University of Texas School of Law and Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs released a major report on low-income homeowners in Texas colonias and other informal housing settlements developed with limited infrastructure and poor housing conditions. Commissioned in August 2011 by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs at the request of the Texas Sunset Commission, the report will be discussed at a presentation on October 19, 2012, from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the University of Texas School of Law, room TNH 3.127.

Congratulations to our 2013 Chancellors. Standing, left to right: Corbin Donald Page, Andrew Jacob Broadaway, Collin Randall White, Samia Beth Rogers, Ross Michael MacDonald, Lauren Kelley Ross, William Patrick Courtney, Colin Watterson, Nathaniel H. Lipanovich, Braden Alexander Beard, Monica Rae Hughes, and Jonathan Louis Levy. Seated: Andrew Tice Ingram, Julia Constance Barrett, Dawson A. Brotemarkle, Martha Louise Todd, and Brett Stephen Rosenthal.

2013 Chancellors Inducted

The Law School congratulates the members of the Class of 2013 who have been admitted to Chancellors, the Law School’s most prestigious honor society. Since 1912, Chancellors has recognized the law students who have achieved the highest grade point averages in their class through their second year of school.

Nikiya Natale, 2012–2013 Baron & Budd Public Interest Scholar.

Nikiya Natale receives 2012–2013 Baron & Budd Public Interest Scholarship

Nikiya Natale, a third-year student at the University of Texas School of Law, has been selected to receive a Baron & Budd Public Interest Scholarship for the 2012–2013 academic year.

The Rapoport Center's 2012–2013 Human Rights Scholars are, left to right, Meredith Weaver, Vanshika Vij, and  Mark Dawson.

Rapoport Center announces 2012–2013 Human Rights Scholars

The Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice at the University of Texas School of Law has named three law students as Rapoport Center Human Rights Scholars for the 2012–2013 school year. Mark Dawson, Vanshika Vij, and Meredith Weaver were selected by a committee of international law faculty on the basis of their academic credentials, leadership skills, and dedication to human rights work. Each of the students will receive a scholarship.


San Antonio Alumni Party

Dean Ward Farnsworth traveled to San Antonio on September 28, 2012, to visit with Law School alumni.

Members of UT Law's Supreme Court Clinic stand in front of the United States Supreme Court after oral arguments in Lozman v. City of Riviera Beach, Florida on October 1, 2012. Pictured from left to right are Ralph Mayrell, Josh Packman, Alese Bagdol, David Frederick, Michael Sturley, Jill Carvalho, Tyson Lies, Jonathan Levy, Collin White, and Ross Macdonald. (The United States Supreme Court’s iconic facade is currently under renovation. A scrim featuring a full-size photograph of the Court hangs in front of the scaffolding as work continues.)

Oral Arguments in Supreme Court Clinic case Lozman v. City of Riviera Beach, Florida heard Monday, October 1, 2012

Faculty and eight students from the University of Texas School of Law’s Supreme Court Clinic will travel to Washington, D.C., to hear oral arguments in one of their current cases, Fane Lozman v. The City of Riviera Beach, Florida, on Monday, October 1, 2012, the opening of the United States Supreme Court’s current term. The case will be argued by David C. Frederick, ’89, codirector of the Supreme Court Clinic and partner at Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel PLLC, in Washington, D.C. This will be Frederick’s thirty-eighth argument before the Court.