The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

Alumni News


San Antonio Alumni Party

Dean Ward Farnsworth traveled to San Antonio on September 28, 2012, to visit with Law School alumni.

Members of UT Law's Supreme Court Clinic stand in front of the United States Supreme Court after oral arguments in Lozman v. City of Riviera Beach, Florida on October 1, 2012. Pictured from left to right are Ralph Mayrell, Josh Packman, Alese Bagdol, David Frederick, Michael Sturley, Jill Carvalho, Tyson Lies, Jonathan Levy, Collin White, and Ross Macdonald. (The United States Supreme Court’s iconic facade is currently under renovation. A scrim featuring a full-size photograph of the Court hangs in front of the scaffolding as work continues.)

Oral Arguments in Supreme Court Clinic case Lozman v. City of Riviera Beach, Florida heard Monday, October 1, 2012

Faculty and eight students from the University of Texas School of Law’s Supreme Court Clinic will travel to Washington, D.C., to hear oral arguments in one of their current cases, Fane Lozman v. The City of Riviera Beach, Florida, on Monday, October 1, 2012, the opening of the United States Supreme Court’s current term. The case will be argued by David C. Frederick, ’89, codirector of the Supreme Court Clinic and partner at Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel PLLC, in Washington, D.C. This will be Frederick’s thirty-eighth argument before the Court.

Pro Bono Program Director Tina Fernandez, left, and Meg Clifford, '12, a research fellow for a new "School to Prison Pipeline" project at the Law School.

Meg Clifford, ’12, joins Justice Center as “School-to-Prison Pipeline” project research fellow

The Law School’s William Wayne Justice Center for Public Interest Law is partnering with the UT Division of Diversity and Community Engagement (DDCE) to fund a two-year research fellow to work on a new “School-to-Prison Pipeline” project. Meg Clifford, ’12, has been selected for the position.

John Massey

John H. Massey, ’66, elected president of the University of Texas Law School Foundation Board of Trustees

The University of Texas Law School Foundation Board of Trustees announces the election of John H. Massey, ’66, of Dallas and Columbus, Texas as its new president. Mr. Massey assumed the presidency on September 1, 2012.

Randy Howry, an Austin attorney and lecturer with the Law School's Trial Advocacy Program, participates in an April TLTV legal clinic for veterans in Austin. The TLTV initiative has drawn many UT Law alumni and friends to help carry out pro bono work on behalf of U.S. veterans.

Serving Those who have Served

Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans, an initiative of the State Bar of Texas, makes it easy for bar associations and attorneys to provide legal assistance to U.S. veterans in need.

UT’s Division of Diversity and Community Engagement honors Machree Garrett Gibson, ’91, with Heman Sweatt Legacy Award

At the closing event of the 26th Annual Heman Sweatt Symposium on Civil Rights on May 4, the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement at The University of Texas at Austin awarded the 2012 Heman Marion Sweatt Legacy Award to Machree Garrett Gibson, the first African American female president of the Texas Exes. The award […]

Sunflower Ceremony and Commencement to take place Saturday, May 19, 2012, with keynote address from Joseph D. Jamail, ’53

The 2012 Sunflower Ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 19, 2012 at 3:30 p.m. at the Frank Erwin Jr. Special Events Center on the University of Texas at Austin campus. Degree candidates, their families, and friends are invited to celebrate the accomplishments of the graduating class of 2012.

Julius Glickman Fellowship in Public Interest Law recipient Michael O’Keefe Cowles, '12.

Michael O’Keefe Cowles, ’12, awarded UT Law post-graduate fellowship to pursue low-wage worker rights project in the Dallas-Fort Worth region

The University of Texas School of Law has awarded the 2012 Julius Glickman Fellowship in Public Interest Law to third-year student Michael O’Keefe Cowles. The two-year fellowship, funded by Julius Glickman, ‘66, provides $45,000 per year for full-time legal work on a project sponsored by an existing public-interest legal organization and supervised by a licensed attorney.

Judge Edward C. Prado, '72, (third from left) with his clerks, left to right, Alex Zolan, Michelle Parthum, Derek Linkous, Kate Nanny, '12, and Amit Vora, at a Community Fellows meeting with the Sheffield Society in February 2012.

Judge Edward C. Prado, ’72, and clerks speak at the Law School

In February, students from the Sheffield Society met with Judge Edward C. Prado, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. Prado, a 1972 graduate of the Law School, serves as the community fellow for the Sheffield Society, which is one of eight societies in the Law School’s Society Program. Prado was joined for the talk by his current law clerks, Derek Linkous, Michelle Parthum, Amit Vora, and Alex Zolan, as well as third-year student Kate Nanny, ’12, who will clerk for Prado after graduating from the Law School.


Photos from Reunion 2012

Alumni from all over the country came to Austin for Reunion 2012, held April 20–21, at the Law School. Here are some photos from the festivities.