The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

National Championship

Law School wins national championship in intellectual property moot court competition

The University of Texas School of Law has won the 40th Annual Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Moot Court Competition. To seal its victory, the Law School’s team of Colleen Bloss, ’13, and Yingying Zeng, ’14, defeated the University of Pennsylvania Law School on April 19, 2013, in the final round of competition in Washington, D.C. This prestigious and rigorous competition is sponsored by the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA). The AIPLA is the premier professional development organization for intellectual property lawyers in the country.

UT Tower lit for Law School’s 2012–2013 national championship interscholastic teams April 22, 2013

On Monday, April 22, UT lit the Tower orange in honor of the Law School’s 2012-2013 national championship teams. Two intramural teams have won national championships already this year, and a third has won a regional championship and will advance to compete for a national championship.

From left to right, Coach Debbie Langehennig, ‘88, Eric Werlinger, Brian Cumings, and Coach Jay Ong, stand in front of the University of Texas Tower, which was illumniated on May 8 in honor of Cumings and Werlinger's winning the national championship for the Law School's interscholastic team in the Conrad B. Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition.

UT Tower lit for Law School interscholastic team’s national championship

On Tuesday, May 8, 2012, beginning at 7:30 p.m., the University of Texas Tower was illuminated in burnt orange with lit windows spelling out a “No. 1″ in recognition of the School of Law’s national championship at the twentieth annual Conrad B. Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition, held at St. John’s University in Queens, New York, March 9-12, 2012.

John L. Costello National Criminal Law Trial Advocacy Competition National Champions Bryan Acklin, '12, Lauren Sprouse, '11, Robert Clopton, '11, Tony McDonald, '12, with coach Jay Adkins, '82. The team's other coach, Ciara Williams, '07, is not pictured

UT Law team wins national championship at John L. Costello National Criminal Law Trial Advocacy Competition

The Law School’s interscholastic team won a national championship at the John L. Costello National Criminal Law Trial Advocacy Competition, held in Fairfax, Virginia, February 10–13, 2011.

UT Law Bankruptcy Moot Court Team

UT Tower Lit for Bankruptcy Moot Court team’s National Championship April 27, 2010

The University of Texas lit the Tower on April 27, 2010, to honor the Law School team that won the 2010 National Championship at the Judge Conrad B. Duberstein National Bankruptcy Moot Court competition.