The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

Massey Prize Law, Innovation, and Capital Markets University of Teas School of Law

Symposium Schedule

Friday, November 11, 2011

Time Location Information
10:30 a.m. Francis Auditorium
(TNH 2.114)

Welcome and Presentation of Award to Massey Prize Recipient Robert Litan

  • Dean Larry Sager, John Jeffers Research Chair in Law; Alice Jane Drysdale Sheffield Regents Chair, University of Texas School of Law
  • Paul Hobby, Founding Partner, Genesis Park LP, and member, Massey Prize Advisory Committee
  • Matthew Spitzer, Hayden W. Head Regents Chair for Faculty Excellence at the University of Texas; Director of the Massey Prize in Law, Innovation, and Capital Markets; and Director of the Center for Law, Business, and Economics
11:00 a.m. Francis Auditorium
(TNH 2.114)

Keynote Address: "Mixed Signals: Madoff, the Meltdown, and the Media"

  • Presented by Diana Henriques, Senior Financial Writer for the New York Times and author of The Wizard of Lies: Bernie Madoff and the Death of Trust
12:00 p.m.

Lunch Break

1:15 p.m. Eidman Courtroom
(CCJ 2.306)

"Economics Experiments and Securities Markets"

  • Presented by Charles Plott, Edward S. Harkness Professor of Economics and Political Science, California Institute of Technology
2:15 p.m. Eidman Courtroom
(CCJ 2.306)

"The Political Economy of Dodd-Frank: A Look Ahead"

  • Presented by Robert Litan, vice president for research and policy at the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and winner of the Inaugural Massey Prize
3:15 p.m. Eidman Courtroom
(CCJ 2.306)

Roundtable Discussion: "Regulation of Financial Markets"


  • Dean Tom Gilligan, Centennial Chair in Business Leadership at McCombs School of Business, University of Texas


  • Paul Atkins, partner at Sphere Consulting and former Commissioner at the Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Edward S. Knight, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Chief Regulatory Officer, the Nasdaq Stock Market Inc.
  • Diana Henriques, senior financial writer, New York Times
  • Charles Plott, professor, California Institute of Technology
  • Robert Litan, winner of the inaugural Massey Prize
4:30 p.m. Eidman Courtroom
(CCJ 2.306)

Closing Remarks

Reception to follow