The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

October 15, 2001

Allegra Young
Director of Communications
(512) 471-7330

UT Law Professor David M. Rabban Inducted into Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Tower Lit in Honor of Academic Achievement

Photo of Professor David M. Rabban
Prof. Rabban's book on free speech was considered "the best book in intellectual history published in 1997."

Austin, Texas — UT School of Law Professor David M. Rabban, a leading legal scholar of free speech in American history and labor law, was inducted into the University's prestigious Academy of Distinguished Teachers. Rabban was the only law professor among the 10 academics cited for teaching excellence during the University's 118th birthday celebration on Sept. 18.

Rabban, who holds the Dahr Jamail, Randall Hage Jamail and Randall Lee Jamail Regents Chair in Law is the fourth law professor to be inducted into the academy. He is the author of the critically acclaimed 1997 book, Free Speech in Its Forgotten Years, which received one of the 1999 Robert W. Hamilton awards presented by the University Coop, as well as awards from the Journal of the History of Ideas and the American Library Association. Rabban has also served as General Counsel for the American Association of University Professors since 1998.

The Academy, founded in 1995, was one of the first of its kind in the nation. There are now 70 members, and each serves an eight-year term. Teachers can be re-elected. Teachers are chosen on basis of outstanding teaching, personal commitment to students and the learning process and their ability to inspire and motivate students in the classroom.

"Being selected is a clear expression of the high regard colleagues hold for the new members' dedication and contributions to teaching and to our students' intellectual development," said Provost Sheldon Ekland-Olson.

The UT Tower was lit following a reception in the Jessen Auditorium Lobby in honor of the new Academy members. "The Tower recognizes triumph and achievement," said UT President Larry Faulker, who noted that the University lit the Tower to "honor the academic achievement of these professors."

"It's a real honor," said Rabban. "I do not know of any law faculty in the country as committed to teaching as my own, and I am thrilled that my students and colleagues nominated me for the Academy."

UT Law Dean Bill Powers said, "I'm very pleased that Professor Rabban was inducted into the Academy. David is an outstanding member of our faculty. His scholarship and teaching excellence made him a prime candidate for the Academy. This is an award he richly deserves."

The University of Texas School of Law is the national leader in constitutional law, labor law, wills and estates, comparative law and admiralty. Faculty articles are cited more often by the courts than any other faculty in the nation, and the UT School of Law has spent six years in the Top 10 in the Princeton Review.

Jenna Zebrowski, UT '03, researched and wrote this press release. She is an intern with the UT Law communications team.