The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 30, 2001

Professor Levinson Receives Highest U.S. Academic Honor

Sanford Levinson

Longtime UT faculty member Sanford Levinson has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, one of the highest academic honors in the United States. He joins UT colleague Douglas Laycock, who was elected to the Academy in 1997. Texas is one of only a dozen law schools in the United States to have at least two active faculty members as elected Fellows of the Academy, and one of only ten where both Fellows are sixty or younger.

"We are delighted that the American Academy has recognized Sandy Levinson's distinguished contributions to constitutional law and legal scholarship. Texas has long had perhaps the best constitutional law faculty in the United States, so it is particularly fitting that the American Academy should have now recognized two of our most important constitutional lawyers," said Bill Powers, Dean of the Law School.

An internationally eminent scholar of constitutional law, Professor Levinson was recognized by the Academy for his work in "constitutional law, theory, and history in which he relates law to history, religion, music and culture in a manner that is intellectually agile and inquiringly interdisciplinary." He is the author of Constitutional Faith (Princeton University Press, 1988) and Written in Stone: Public Monuments in Changing Societies (Duke University Press, 1998); co-author of a leading constitutional law casebook, Processes of Constitutional Decision-Making (Aspen, 4th ed., 2000); and editor or co-editor of many books, including Responding to Imperfection: The Theory and Practice of Constitutional Amendment (Princeton University Press, 1995) and Interpreting Law and Literature: A Hermeneutic Reader (Northwestern University Press, 1988).

Professor Levinson, who holds the W. St. John Garwood and W. St. John Garwood, Jr. Chair in the School of Law, is also a Professor in the Department of Government at UT. He has taught in the Department of Politics at Princeton University and was a visiting professor at Harvard Law School, New York University School of Law, and Boston University School of Law. He is also an elected member of the American Law Institute.