The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 1, 2004

Press Contact: Allegra Young, UT Law (512) 471-7330

Professor Brian Leiter's Nietzsche on Morality Honored at Hamilton Book Awards

Brian Leiter
Brian Leiter

AUSTIN, Texas — On Sunday, March 28, professor Brian Leiter's book Nietzsche on Morality (Routledge, 2002) was named one of four finalists in UT-Austin's Hamilton Book Awards. The Hamilton Awards are the highest honor of literary achievement given to published authors at The University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Larry R. Faulkner, president of the university, hosted the event and announced the winners.

"It is gratifying to be recognized by my university colleagues in this way, and to be recognized in the company of so many impressive scholars. Anyone looking over the catalogue of books produced by UT faculty just in the last year can only marvel at the level of research excellence across so many disciplines that marks this great university," Leiter said.

Dean Powers added, "Brian wrote a marvelous book. It is gratifying that it received this well-deserved recognition."

In addition to Leiter, Dr. Janet M. Davis was honored for The Circus Age: Culture & Society Under the American Big Top, (The University of North Carolina Press), Dr. Paul A. Jensen and Dr. Jonathan F. Bard were honored for Operations Research: Models and Methods, (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.), and Dr. Kurt Weyland was honored for The Politics of Market Reform in Fragile Democracies: Argentina, Brazil, Peru, and Venezuela (Princeton University Press). The Hamilton Book Award $10,000 grand prize was awarded to Dr. Jeffrey Chipps Smith, the Kay Fortson Chair in European Art in the Department of Art and Art History, for Sensuous Worship: Jesuits and the Art of the Early Catholic Reformation in Germany (Princeton University Press).

Finalists are selected by a committee of scholars appointed by Dr. Juan Sanchez, Vice President of Research at the University of Texas at Austin. All permanent University of Texas faculty members with books published during the previous academic year are eligible for the award. The awards are named in honor of law professor Robert W. Hamilton, past Chairperson of the University Co-op. Professor Hamilton was Chairperson for 12 years, resigning in April of 2001. Past Law School winners include Philip Bobbitt (grand prize, 2003), Scot Powe (grand prize, 2001), Jack Getman and David Rabban (finalists, 1999).

Related links:
Brian Leiter:
Hamilton Awards announced: