The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

May 4, 2004

Press Contacts: Allegra Young, UT Law, (512) 471-7330

Alumna and Judge Diane Wood,'75, Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

U.S. appeals court judge for the seventh circuit is an expert in international trade law, antitrust, and federal civil procedure

AUSTIN, Texas — Today The University of Texas at Austin School of Law announced that alumna Judge Diane P. Wood, J.D. '75, was elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, one of the highest academic honors in the United States. Wood received both her B.A. and J.D. degrees from the University of Texas at Austin.

"Diane Wood is not only a superb judge and teacher but a great friend to our Law School. We are delighted that she's been honored by the Academy," said Dean Bill Powers.

Wood currently serves as a senior lecturer in law at the University of Chicago. According to her web site, she clerked for Judge Irving L. Goldberg of the Fifth Circuit and for Justice Harry A. Blackmun of the U.S. Supreme Court. She then worked briefly for the U.S. State Department on international investment, antitrust, and transfer of technology issues and as a lawyer at Covinton & Burling where her practice focused on more general antitrust and commercial litigation practice until June 1980. In 1981, she joined the faculty of the University of Chicago School of Law, taking two leaves to visit at Cornell and to revise the Department of Justice Antitrust Guide for International Operations. From 1993 until 1995, she served as deputy assistant general in the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice with responsibility for the Division's International, Appellate, and Legal Policy matters. Before becoming a judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in 1995, Judge Wood held the Harold J. and Marion F. Green Professor of International Legal Studies at the University of Chicago.

About the American Academy of Arts and Sciences:

For over 220 years, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences has been honoring excellence and providing service to the nation and the world. Through independent, nonpartisan study, its ranks of distinguished "scholar-patriots" have brought the arts and sciences into constructive interplay with the leaders of both the public and private sectors.

The Academy was founded during the American Revolution by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other leaders who contributed prominently to the establishment of the new nation, its government, and its Constitution. Its purpose was to provide a forum for a select group of scholars, members of the learned professions, and government and business leaders to work together on behalf of the democratic interests of the republic. In the words of the Academy's charter, enacted in 1780, the "end and design of the institution cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honour, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people."

Today the Academy is an international learned society with a dual function: to elect to membership men and women of exceptional achievement, drawn from science, scholarship, business, public affairs, and the arts, and to conduct a varied program of projects and studies responsive to the needs and problems of society. With 4,000 fellows and 600 foreign honorary members, the Academy is regarded as one of the world's leading intellectual institutions.

Related links:
Judge Diane Wood's University of Chicago web page:
The American Academy of Arts & Sciences:
2004: Professor Bobbitt receives highest U.S. academic honor:
2001: Levinson elected to the Academy of Arts and Sciences: