The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

June 07, 2004

Contact: Mark Curriden, Vinson & Elkins, (214) 220-7879

Harry Reasoner, Class of 1962, receives the 2004 American Inns of Court Professionalism Award for the Fifth Circuit

HOUSTON, Texas — Harry M. Reasoner, a 1962 graduate of The University of Texas School of Law, has been awarded the 2004 American Inns of Court Professionalism Award for the Fifth Circuit.

Judge Patrick E. Higginbotham of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, former President of the American Inns of Court, presented the award to Mr. Reasoner on May 13th at the 2004 Fifth Circuit Judicial Conference in Austin, Texas.

The Circuit Professionalism Award is presented to honor a senior practicing judge or lawyer whose life and practice display sterling character and unquestioned integrity, coupled with ongoing dedication to the highest standards of the legal profession. Candidates are nominated through circuit-wide open nominations and selected by a panel of representatives from both the circuit and the American Inns of Court Foundation.

Harry M. Reasoner graduated from Rice University in 1960 and from The University of Texas Law School in 1962. He then completed post-graduate work at the University of London as a Rotary Foundation Fellow, studying international law and comparative law of competition and monopoly. He clerked for Judge Charles E. Clark on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in 1963. He joined Vinson & Elkins in 1963 and was Managing Partner from 1992 until 2001. His principal area of practice is general litigation, including antitrust and securities litigation.

Mr. Reasoner is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, International Academy of Trial Lawyers, International Society of Barristers, and American Bar Foundation. Mr. Reasoner's professional memberships include the American Law Institute and the American Board of Trial Advocates. He chaired the District Court Advisory Group for the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas under the Provisions of the Civil Justice Reform Act of 1990.

He serves on the Board of Trustees of Baylor College of Medicine and The Center for American and International Law, and on the Board of Governors of Rice University. He is a Board Member of the Houston Music Hall Foundation and the Houston Annenberg Challenge for Public School Reform.

He is also a member of the Philosophical Society of Texas, and a Life Trustee of The University of Texas Law School Foundation, where he served as President from 1998 to 2001.

Mr. Reasoner was the Law School's Distinguished Alumnus for Community Service in 1995 and its Outstanding Alumnus in 1998. In 1997, he received The University of Texas Distinguished Alumnus Award.

The American Inns of Court Circuit Professionalism Awards are presented in participating circuits nationwide. The awards are underwritten in part by Thomson - West Group.

Related link:

Law School celebrates unveiling of Reasoner, Jamail statues: