The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

October 21, 2004

Press Contacts: Kirston Fortune, Communications Strategy Manager, (512) 471.7330, and Jodi Bart, Communications Coordinator, (512) 471-7330,

Free Public Lecture Features U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison,
U.S. Secretary of Commerce Donald L. Evans and Mexico’s Secretary of Foreign Affairs Luis Ernesto Derbez, Nov. 4

WHAT: UT School of Law Presents a Free Lecture Inaugurating the Kay Bailey Hutchison Chair in Latin American Law.
WHEN: Thurs., Nov. 4, 2004, from 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
WHERE: UT Performing Arts Center's Bass Concert Hall at the corner of 23rd Street and Robert Dedman Drive. (Directions:
WHO: Open to the public.
FREE TICKETS: Free tickets are available in person at The UT Performing Arts Center Ticket Office (at Bass Concert Hall), UT Law’s Communication Center (in the atrium of Townes Hall) and The Frank Erwin Center Box Office (1701 Red River). For box office hours, please call 512-477-6060. Maps of The University of Texas at Austin can be found online.

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas School of Law will present a free public lecture on Thurs., Nov. 4, featuring U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison with guest speakers Donald L. Evans, U.S. Secretary of Commerce, and Luis Ernesto Derbez, Mexico’s Secretary of Foreign Affairs. The lecture, which celebrates the establishment of the Kay Bailey Hutchison Chair in Latin American Law, will be held at UT’s Bass Concert Hall at 4:30 p.m.

Secretary Evans and Secretary Derbez will discuss trade issues within the Western Hemisphere and government relations between the United States and Latin America. Senator Hutchison, a 1967 UT Law graduate, UT President Larry Faulkner and UT School of Law Dean William Powers will also speak at the event.

In addition, Hutchison, Evans and Derbez will answer pre-selected questions from members of the public, who are encouraged to submit their questions in advance of the event via email to

Tickets to this event are free and are available in person at the UT Performing Arts Center Ticket Office at Bass Concert Hall, UT Law’s Communication Center in the atrium of Townes Hall, and The Frank Erwin Center Box Office at 1701 Red River. Bass Concert Hall is located on the east side of The University of Texas campus at the corner of 23rd Street and Robert Dedman Drive.

Paid parking is located at the San Jacinto Garage (PG 1) between 24th and Dean Keeton streets and at the Manor Garage (PG 5) on Robert Dedman Drive directly across from the Darrell K. Royal Texas Memorial Stadium.

About The Kay Bailey Hutchison Chair in Latin American Law

The new initiative—a center and programmatic chair dedicated to Latin American law—builds on an important investment that The University of Texas at Austin has made in Latin America, its culture, its law, and its history. Since its founding in 1883, UT-Austin has developed one of the most important academic relationships in the hemisphere with Latin America. And now, The Center for Latin American Law will complement these relationships by facilitating scholarly research, as well as faculty and student exchanges, on topics of mutual interest, including trade, investment, and the rule of law. Senator Hutchison, a class of 1967 Law School alumna, has long been a proponent of closer ties between the U.S. and Latin America, and the Hutchison Chair is a fitting tribute to her work to strengthen the relationships among the countries of the Western Hemisphere.

About the Speakers

Kay Bailey Hutchison became the first woman to represent Texas in the U.S. Senate in 1993. In 2000, she was elected Vice Chairman of the Senate Republican Conference, becoming one of the top five leaders of Senate Republicans, and the only woman. Senator Hutchison serves as a U.S. delegate to the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, commonly known as the Helsinki Commission. She was twice elected to the Texas House of Representatives. In 1990, she was elected Texas State Treasurer. A graduate of The University of Texas and The University of Texas School of Law, Hutchison serves as a member of the Board of Trustees of The University of Texas Law School Foundation.

Donald L. Evans is the 34th secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Secretary Evans advises President George W. Bush on economic policies, international trade, business concerns, and energy policy. Evans attended The University of Texas at Austin, receiving a B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering in 1969 and an M.B.A. in 1973. In 1995, then Texas governor Bush appointed Evans to the Board of Regents of The University of Texas; he was elected chairman of the board in February 1997 and served two consecutive terms. In September 2002, The University of Texas awarded Secretary Evans its Distinguished Alumnus Award. In November 2002, he was inducted into The University of Texas McCombs School of Business Hall of Fame.

Luis Ernesto Derbez is the secretary of foreign affairs of Mexico. Secretary Derbez worked for the World Bank for 14 years, where he directed Multilateral Economic Assistance and Structural Adjustment Programs in Chile, Costa Rica, Honduras and Guatemala. Between 1997 and 2000 he worked as an independent consultant for the World Bank Mexico City Office and for the Inter-American Development Bank in Washington, D.C. Derbez has also worked as a professor in the Graduate School of Business Management of ITESM in Monterrey, Nuevo León, a guest professor at Johns Hopkins University School of International Studies, and as the director of the ITESM Econometric Studies Unit and Economics Department in Monterrey. He also was the Academic Vice Rector of the University of the Americas in Cholula, Puebla. Derbez received a degree in economics from San Luis Potosi Autonomous University, a master’s degree in economics from the University of Oregon, and a doctorate in economics from Iowa State University.

Larry R. Faulkner is the 27th president of The University of Texas at Austin. Prior to his selection as president in 1998, he had served as provost, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and head of the department of chemistry at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he served on the faculty for 25 years.

William C. Powers was named the 12th dean of The University of Texas School of Law in 2000. He has been a professor at the Law School since 1977. Powers holds the John Jeffers Research Chair in Law and the Hines H. Baker and Thelma Kelley Baker Chair in Law. He teaches torts, products liability, jurisprudence, legal process, civil procedure, and contracts.

Related Links:
The University of Texas School of Law:
The University of Texas Performing Arts Center: