The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

October 29, 2004

Contact: Kirston Fortune, UT Law Communications, (512) 471.7330,
Event Contact: Prof. Roy Mersky, Director, Jamail Center for Legal Research at UT Law, 512- 471-7735,

UT Law Hosts 2004 Annual Meeting of American Society for Legal History, Oct. 29-30

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas School of Law is hosting the 2004 annual meeting of the American Society for Legal History, Oct. 29-30. More than 200 people are expected to attend the conference in Austin.

Founded in 1956, the American Society for Legal History ( is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to fostering scholarship, teaching, and study concerning the law and institutions of all legal systems, both Anglo-American and international. Each year, the Society holds an annual conference to promote scholarship and interaction among teachers, practitioners, and students interested in legal history.

A plenary session, "Law and Religious Pluralism," will be moderated by UT Law Professor Douglas Laycock on Friday, Oct. 29, at 4:30 p.m. in the Francis Auditorium (2.114) in Townes Hall at the Law School. Session panelists include Baber Johansen (Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris), John Witte (Emory University School of Law) and Carol Weisbrod (University of Connecticut Law School).

The annual meeting will also include a number of concurrent sessions on Friday, Oct. 29, and Saturday, Oct. 30, at the Driskill Hotel and Stephen F. Austin Intercontinental Hotel in downtown Austin. Several UT Law faculty are on the program including Hans Baade, Karen Engle, William Forbath, and Sanford Levinson.

Other UT speakers on the program include John Balz (American Studies), Sally Clarke (History), Julie Hardwick (History), Susan Heinzelman (English), Gretchen Ritter (Government), Bartholomew Sparrow (Government), and Mike Widener (Law Library).