The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

February 28, 2005

Press Contact: Jodi Bart, UT Law Communications, (512) 471-7330 or Peg Tamiso, Harvard, (617) 496-5392.

Ernest Young wins Paul M. Bator Award

National award honors scholar for "significant public impact"

CAMBRIDGE, Massachusetts — The Federalist Society honored Professor Ernest Young with the 2005 Paul M. Bator Award for his contributions to legal scholarship and for his commitment to students in the classroom. The award was presented on Feb. 26 in Cambridge, Massachusetts during the society's 2005 National Student Symposium at Harvard Law School.

The award was established in 1989 in memory of Professor Paul M. Bator, a renowned scholar of constitutional law and federal jurisdiction at Harvard and the University of Chicago. The award is given annually to a young academic (under 40) who has demonstrated excellence in legal scholarship, a commitment to teaching, a concern for students, and who has made a significant public impact. Previous award winners include Stephen Carter (Yale), Randy Barnett (Boston University), Akhil Amar (Yale), and Adrian Vermeule (Chicago).

"We warmly congratulate Ernie on this public recognition of his scholarship and his work with students," said UT Law Dean Bill Powers. "He is a terrific scholar and teacher, and we are proud to have him on our faculty."

In accepting the award, Professor Young noted that "While I did not know Paul Bator personally, I was raised in the tradition of federal courts scholarship that he did so much to foster, and I'm very proud to accept this award in his honor. I'm also grateful to The University of Texas for providing such a fine academic home."

Professor Young's scholarship ranges from federalism and foreign affairs law to comparative constitutional law and even maritime law. Recent and forthcoming papers include "The Rehnquist Court's Two Federalisms," the lead article in last fall's Texas Law Review, as well as "Making Federalism Doctrine" and "Institutional Settlement in a Globalizing Judicial System" in this spring's William & Mary and Duke law journals, respectively. In conferring the award, Professor Charles Fried of Harvard Law School also recognized Young as the lead author of an amicus curiae brief filed by several prominent constitutional scholars defending state governmental authority to permit medical marijuana use in Ashcroft v. Raich, which the U.S. Supreme Court heard last fall.

At Texas, Professor Young holds the Judge Benjamin H. Powell professorship and teaches first-year Constitutional Law, Federal Courts, and Foreign Affairs and the Constitution. He has served as a Faculty Clerkship Advisor and Advisor to the Texas Law Review. He won the Texas Exes Teaching Excellence Award in 2004, the Eyes of Texas award for institutional service in 2003, and the Robert Murff Excellence Award in 2002 (with Tony Reese) from the Texas Campus Career Council for service as student clerkship advisor. Young has also served on the Texas Judicial Council's Committee on Public Access to Court Records and as the 2003-04 Chair of the Association of American Law Schools' Maritime Section.

Professor Young joined the UT faculty in 1999 after a year as Visiting Assistant Professor at Villanova University School of Law. He graduated from Dartmouth College (1990) and Harvard Law School (1993), where he received the 1992 Sears Prize for academic excellence and served on the Harvard Law Review. Young clerked for the Hon. Michael Boudin of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and for U.S. Supreme Court Justice David Souter. He also practiced law with Cohan, Simpson, Cowlishaw & Wulff in Dallas and Covington & Burling in Washington, DC. This year he is a visiting professor at Harvard Law School and Dartmouth College.

Related Links:
Ernest Young: