The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

March 17, 2005

Press Contact:
Jodi Bart, UT Law communications, (512) 471-7330.
Event Contact: Chante B. Prox, TMLS, (214) 676-2123 or

Thurgood Marshall Legal Society Banquet, April 8

24th Annual Banquet: "Fulfilling a Legacy of Excellence"

AUSTIN, Texas — The Thurgood Marshall Legal Society (TMLS) at The University of Texas School of Law is hosting the 24th Annual Thurgood Marshall Legal Society Banquet on Friday, April 8, 2005 at 6:00 p.m. in the Connally Ballroom at the Etter-Harbin Alumni Center (2110 San Jacinto Blvd).

This year’s theme is “Fulfilling a Legacy of Excellence.” Accordingly, the banquet will honor some of UT Law’s most distinguished alumni, recognize the accomplishments of current African-American law students, and honor the winner of the Heman Sweatt Essay Contest for high school students.

The Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee will be the keynote speaker. Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee was elected to the United States House of Representatives in 1994 to represent the 18th Congressional District of Houston, Texas. Congresswoman Jackson Lee received her undergraduate degree from Yale University, graduating from the Honors Program in Political Science. She went on to receive her Doctor of Jurisprudence from the University of Virginia School of Law.

The evening’s honorees include the following alumni: Kameron Johnson, '92, Travis County Juvenile Public Defender; Pastor Joseph C. Parker, Jr., '82, David Chapel Missionary Baptist Church in Austin, Texas; Denise Davis, '93, Parliamentarian, Texas House of Representatives; Family of Heman Sweatt, First African American admitted to UT Law, and The Shankle Family in memory of Felecia Shankle-Rogers, '01.

Tickets are $35 for students and $45 for non-students. The event is semi-formal and open to the public. To purchase tickets or to make a charitable donation to TMLS please call (512)232-1393 or send email to

TMLS is the University of Texas chapter of the Black Law Students' Association, a national coalition of black law students from nearly every law school in the country.

Related Links:
Thurgood Marshall Legal Society:
Travis County Honors Civil Rights Pioneer Heman Sweatt :
In Memoriam: Felecia Shankle-Rogers, UT Law Class of 2001: