The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 15, 2005

Press Contacts: Kirston Fortune, (512) 471.7330, or Jodi Bart, (512) 471-7330, UT Law Communications, and Neal S. Manne, Susman Godfrey LLP, (713) 653-7827.

UT School of Law Dedicates Susman Godfrey Atrium

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas School of Law dedicated its atrium in Townes Hall in honor of the Houston-based law firm of Susman Godfrey LLP on Saturday, April 16. The noon dedication ceremony of the Susman Godfrey Atrium recognized the firm’s $2 million gift to the Law School earlier this year.

In January, the Law School announced the donation of the multimillion dollar gift from Susman Godfrey LLP, one of the nation's preeminent boutique litigation firms. The Susman Godfrey LLP Fund for Faculty Excellence will be used to recruit and retain outstanding faculty at the Law School.

The dedication ceremony was held during the Law School’s annual alumni reunion weekend and included a champagne reception. The atrium serves as a gathering venue for students, faculty, and Law School organizations as well as a welcome center for guests.

"This extremely generous gift from Susman Godfrey will enable us to attract and retain the very best faculty. Nothing is more important for the Law School's future. It is fitting that we honor this great law firm with the Susman Godfrey Atrium, not only to thank them for their generosity, but also to recognize their long connection to our Law School and prominence in the legal community," said UT-Austin School of Law Dean Bill Powers.

Susman Godfrey is a 70-lawyer firm with offices in Houston, Dallas, Seattle and Los Angeles. Name partners are UT Law alumni H. Lee Godfrey, B.A. '66, J.D., '69 (with honors) and Stephen Susman, J.D. '65 (with highest honors). Fourteen of the law firm's 36 other partners also graduated from UT Law. The firm's practice is devoted exclusively to litigation, for both plaintiffs and defendants.

Related Link:

Susman Godfrey LLP Fund for Faculty Excellence Established at UT-Austin School of Law: