The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 20, 2005

Press Contact:
Jodi Bart, UT Law, (512) 471-7330.
Program Contacts: Team coaches Pierre Hubert and Jennifer Kuhn, (512) 732-0771 or Professor Tracy McCormack, Director of the UT Law Advocacy Program, (512) 232-1260.

UT Law Wins National Championship at 2005 Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition

This is the 10th national advocacy championship for UT Law in the last six years

Photo of

        IP Moot Court Champions
2005 Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court Champions

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas School of Law brought home the national championship during the 2005 Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition held in Washington, D.C., on April 13–15. This is the third time in four years that UT has taken the national title.

This year, both teams in the regional final round and the national final round were from The University of Texas. UT Law was the only school to have two teams advance to the national competition.

The 2005 National Champions are Jennifer Hebert, J.D. ’05, and Noah Balch, J.D./M.B.A. ’06. UT Law team members Chris Boeck, J.D. ’05, and Floyd Walker, J.D. ’06, are this year’s national finalists. In March, the UT Law teams swept the Southern regional competition. Hebert and Balch received Best Oral Advocates and Best Appellant Brief awards and won the regional championship; Boeck and Walker took second place.

Four regional competitions are held each spring in Silicon Valley, Houston, Chicago, and Washington D.C. The top two teams from each region advance to the national competition in April, which takes place in the Howard T. Markley National Courts Building in Washington D.C. This year’s eight national competition teams represented seven different schools. The final round was held at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Washington, D.C. Judges Alan D. Lourie, William Curtis Bryson, and Sharon Prost, all from the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, presided over the final round.

The UT Giles Sutherland Rich teams are coached by Jennifer Kuhn and her husband, Pierre Hubert. Jennifer, a graduate of Cornell Law School, is a solo practitioner in Austin, Texas. Pierre is Counsel in the Austin office of Dewey Ballantine, L.L.P. He completed the graduate program in engineering at the University of Texas in 1993 before heading to NYU for law school. This is only the second year Jennifer and Pierre have coached the intellectual property moot court teams and this is the second time they’ve coached their teams to the national championship.

The law firms of Dewey Ballantine, L.L.P and McKool Smith, P.C. generously sponsor the intellectual property moot court teams at UT Founded in 1909, Dewey Ballantine is an international law firm with over 550 attorneys, thirteen offices worldwide and more than 40 practice areas. McKool Smith is a Dallas-based law firm engaged exclusively in commercial, civil trial and appellate litigation throughout the nation. McKool’s practice areas include intellectual property, antitrust, technology, class action, contract, environmental, securities and business tort litigation.

The American Intellectual Property Law Association hosts the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Moot Court Competition, one of the largest national moot court competitions in the nation. Each year the competition problem focuses on issues in intellectual property law, primarily patent law. The competition is named for the late Honorable Giles Sutherland Rich, Circuit Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Judge Rich was a prominent Federal Circuit judge responsible for shaping much of the current U.S. patent law.

The University of Texas School of Law is a nationally recognized center of training in advocacy and winner of the American College of Trial Lawyers’ Emil Gumpert Award. The Advocacy Program encompasses the both academic and competitive aspects of advocacy through courses, seminars, tournaments and the Board of Advocates student organization.

Related Links:
The University of Texas School of Law Advocacy:

Tower to be Lighted in Honor of UT Law's Moot Court National Champions, April 29:

UT Law Wins National Championship at 2004 Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition: