The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

April 26, 2005

Press Contact:
Jodi Bart, UT Law, (512) 471-7330.
Event Contact: Professor Tracy McCormack, UT Law Advocacy Program, (512) 232-9327.

Tower to be Lighted in Honor of UT Law's Moot Court National Champions, April 29

AUSTIN, Texas — The University of Texas at Austin will light the Tower on Friday, April 29, in honor of the 2005 National Championships won by the Law School's Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Team and the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court Team.

This is the fourth year in a row that the Admiralty Moot Court Team has taken the national title. Coached by Chris Sapstead, '01, team members Teresa Chin, ‘06 and Natasha Self, ’06 also won the Maritime Law Association Award for best brief in the competition. Teresa Chin won the Royston, Rayzor, Vickery & Williams Award for best oral advocate of the tournament.

This is the third time in the last four years that the Intellectual Property Moot Court team has won the national championship. Coached by Pierre Hubert and Jennifer Kuhn and sponsored by the firms Dewey Ballantine, L.L.P. and McKool Smith, team members Jennifer Hebert, J.D. ’05, and Noah Balch, J.D./M.B.A. ’06 won the regional championship and went on to the national competition in Washington, D.C. Hebert and Balch received Best Oral Advocates and Best Appellant Brief awards at the regional championship. This year, both teams in the regional final round and the national final round were from The University of Texas. UT Law was the only school to have two teams advance to the national competition.

The Tower will be lighted in recognition of each team member's outstanding academic achievements. This is the fifth time UT-Austin has lighted the Tower to honor UT Law. Previous lightings were for the 1999 National Mock Trial Championship team, the 2000 Tournament of Champions Mock Trial national championship team, combined for the 2002 Frederick Douglass Moot Court and the 2003 Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court national championship teams, and combined for the 2004 John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court team and the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Intellectual Property Moot Court team.

For more on the 2005 advocacy team regional and national winners go to the UT Law Advocacy Web site at

The University of Texas School of Law is a nationally recognized center of training in advocacy and winner of the American College of Trial Lawyers' Emil Gumpert Award. The Advocacy Program encompasses both the academic and competitive aspects of advocacy through courses, seminars, tournaments and the Board of Advocates student organization.

Related Links:
2Ls Teresa Chin and Natasha Self Win 2005 Admiralty Moot Court Competition:
UT Law Wins National Championship at 2005 Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition:
Tower to be Lighted in Honor of UT Law's 2004 Moot Court National Champions: