The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

October 26, 2005

Press Contact:
Allegra Young, UT Law, (512) 471-7330.

Alumnus David J. Beck, ’65, Named President-Elect of the American College of Trial Lawyers

AUSTIN, Texas—The American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL) named UT Law School Foundation President David Beck, ’65, its President-Elect this October. He will become President at the College’s annual meeting in London in September 2006 and serve for a one-year term.

Founded in 1950, the ACTL is composed of the best of the trial bar in the United States and Canada. Fellowship in the ACTL is extended by invitation to only those experienced trial lawyers who have mastered the art of advocacy and whose careers have been marked by the highest ethical standards, professionalism and civility. Fellowship is limited to 1% of the Bar and Fellows must have a minimum of 15 years of experience. Unlike other trial lawyer organizations, the ACTL does not draw its membership from only one branch of the trial bar or focus on only one area of litigation. Fellows of the ACTL represent plaintiffs and defendants in all manner of civil cases and include federal and state prosecutors and criminal defense attorneys. The ACTL is thus able to speak with a balanced voice on important issues affecting the administration of justice, the standards of trial practice and the ethics of the profession.

Morris Harrell, Leon Jaworski, and Kraft Eidman, ’35, are the only other Texans to have led the elite group since its founding in 1950. Beck worked with both Eidman and Jaworski when working at the law firm of Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.

About David J. Beck:

David Beck co-founded Beck, Redden & Secrest L.L.P. law firm in Houston, Texas. He served as President of the State Bar of Texas in 1995-96. He is also Fellow in the International Academy of Trial Lawyers, and an Advocate in the American Board of Trial Advocates. He has been named an "Honorary Overseas Member" of The Commercial Bar Association (COMBAR), a preeminent association of English barristers.

He is a past recipient of the prestigious University of Texas Law School Faculty Award and the prominent State Bar of Texas Presidents’ Award. He also received in 1995 the distinguished "Honorary Barrister" Award from the UT Law Board of Advocates. He has been named one of "The Best Lawyers in America" by Woodward & White since the inception of the publication in 1990, and is currently one of the few attorneys listed in four areas of practice.

In 2004, United States Supreme Court Chief Justice William Rehnquist appointed Beck to the very prestigious Judicial Conference Standing Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure. The Committee’s members include some of the leading judges, academicians, and practitioners in the United States.

Most recently, Beck was honored with the Anti-Defamation League’s 2005 Jurisprudence Award. The Award is presented each year to legal professionals who demonstrate a devotion to the principles enshrined in the U.S. Constitution, commitment to the democratic values of the United States, and dedication to fair and equal justice for all.

Related Link: