The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

January 19, 2006

Press/Event Contact:
Crystal M. Leff, Texas Review of Litigation, 512-471-4386 or

The Review of Litigation Presents its 2006 Symposium: “The Review at 25: Looking to the Future of Litigation”

What: The Review of Litigation Symposium
Where: Eidman Courtroom, The University of Texas School of Law
Cost: Early registration is $100 (ends Friday, Feb. 17); Late registration is $130.
Who: The Symposium is open to the public, free admission, applicable CLE charges may apply
When: February 23-24, 2006.

AUSTIN, Texas—The Review of Litigation will present its annual symposium on Thursday Feb. 23, 2006 and Friday Feb. 24, 2006. In honor of the publication's twenty-fifth year of publishing, the symposium will focus on the future of litigation and is titled "The Review at 25: Looking to the Future of Litigation." The Keynote Address will be given by The Honorable Patrick E. Higginbotham, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit on Feb. 23, at 12:30 p.m.

A broad range of topics will be discussed, including: privatizing the justice system, the vanishing jury trial, federal electronic discovery and beyond, the future of litigation ethics, and the future of alternative dispute resolution. The entire symposium agenda is available here:

The speakers and panelists include distinguished judges, scholars and practitioners from throughout the United States.

Participating judges include Judge Edward C. Prado and Judge Patrick E. Higginbotham, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, District Judge Sam Sparks and District Judge Xavier Rodriguez, U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas, and Justice Scott A. Brister and Justice Harriett O'Neill, The Supreme Court of Texas.

Participating scholars include UT Law Professor Alexandra Wilson Albright, UT Law Visiting Professor Lonny S. Hoffman, Professor Richard Marcus of The University of California-Hastings, Tracy McCormack, Lecturer and Director of Interscholastic Advocacy at UT Law, UT Law Professor Charles M. Silver, and Professor Edward Sherman of Tulane.

Related Link:
Symposium Website: